Review: Letters from Father Christmas by J. R. R. Tolkien.

letters-to-father-christmasLast Christmas I learnt about the existence of Letters from Father Christmas and I instantly knew I would have to read it. However, I held back because I wanted to be able to read and review it around the Christmas period.

As a result of this, a month ago when I was searching for Christmas books I could review throughout Blogmas, Letters from Father Christmas hopped straight into my basket.

We all know the stories of The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings and how Tolkien would tell his children these stories, but Letters from Father Christmas is a little different to his other works. Letters from Father Christmas is a compilation of letters written by Tolkien in the hand of Father Christmas and his companions addressed to his own children.

This book displays all the letters Tolkien wrote to his children as Father Christmas and so on, they were all scanned into the book and alongside are the exact words Tolkien used, only in a easier to read font. The letters showcase Tolkien’s incredible creativity and beautiful calligraphy and drawings and the amount of effort that has clearly gone into these letters for his children is heart-warming.

The stories within the letters were lovely and humorous to read; I bet Tolkien’s children loved them and it was a joy to receive a new letter or two every Christmas. I also love how Tolkien even referenced his own work of The Hobbit within a letter.

With these only being letters,they are not as built up or remarkable as The Hobbit, but they are still a lovely little read, especially around Christmas and they provide a little more insight into Tolkien’s family and home life. As a whole, I would rate this 4/5.

A few months ago I also read another short story by Tolkien, Leaf by Niggle, which I really enjoy and you can find my review here.

Have you been reading any Christmas books this month?

I’d love to hear about what you’re reading and any festive recommendations in the comments!

-driftinglexi

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Bloglovin‘ | Pinterest YouTube

6 thoughts on “Review: Letters from Father Christmas by J. R. R. Tolkien.

Leave a Reply

