Review: Stealing Snow by Danielle Paige.

stealing-snowIt always takes me a little while to get properly into the Christmas spirit, so since it is the beginning of December I’ve decided to review a book which is wintry rather than Christmassy. As you will have seen from the blog post title, this book is called Stealing Snow*.

When this book opened up, I was pretty wary of it because I discovered that it was set in a mental institution. I have no problem reading about mental health, however I do worry about how it is handled and written about. I found the book pretty easy to read so I persevered with it and actually got through it pretty fast – perhaps my book slump is finally coming to an end – so I reckon it’s safe to say I ended up enjoying it.

I really liked the world of Algid and I loved all of the Robbers; especially Jagger and Fathom. The magic in this world was interesting too, I liked the concept of it being bottled up for basically anyone to use and the wide range of things they could do with the magic. However, I did feel that this book was lacking in detail. When people create new worlds I like hearing proper descriptions in order to help me visualise it in my head. I suppose it was nice that there wasn’t a lot of info-dumping, so I wasn’t being overwhelmed with information about this new place, but at the same time it felt a lot like story after story after story with new information coming to light.

Stealing Snow had a lot of twists and turns, I certainly didn’t see all of them coming! I found this really refreshing and it made the book more enjoyable as it isn’t so exciting if you can guess what kind of path the book is going down. When I was reading I kept thinking of different possible scenarios that could be carried out and I was wrong, a lot, but it was fun nevertheless.

YA fiction is known a lot for love triangles and fortunately for us, instead of two love interests we had three! I’m not entirely sure if I mean that sarcastically or not… The thing is I liked that it was a little different and gave us more options; however it just makes things really difficult. The first part of the book was more focused on Kai, but then the second part focused on Jagger which made me forget how much I liked Kai. Of course, we still see both characters in both parts but because there are the two of them, plus Bale, I don’t feel that we have enough time with Kai -and even Bale – to properly fall in love with his character as Jagger comes waltzing in (unless you really dislike Jagger anyway) and takes over the second part of the book. Having so many love interests just felt unnecessary.

I liked Kai, he was cute, but I loved Jagger despite him being annoying at times and untrustworthy, yet at the same time you really want to trust him and sometimes do. Focusing on the character of Snow, I really wasn’t a fan of her. I found her frustrating and whiny and selfish which didn’t make her perspective an enjoying one to read from.

Overall, I liked this book in some ways, but also disliked it in others. This sits in the middle at a 3/5 for me. I felt like the book could have had potential for more, but there were still parts I did like, although I’m not entirely sure whether or not I would want to continue with this series.

What were your thoughts on Stealing Snow?

-driftinglexi

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

*I received a digital copy of this book from NetGalley to read and review, giving my honest and unbiased opinion.

Leave a Reply

