Review: The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett by Chelsea Sedoti.

the-hundred-lies-of-lizzie-lovettI really have no idea how to begin this book review, I barely know how to begin my overview of the actual book, so please excuse me for my bluntness, but I’m diving right in.

When popular girl at school Lizzie Lovett disappears, Hawthorn, our protagonist a few years younger than Lizzie, becomes obsessed with the disappearance and even Lizzie herself. Throughout the book Hawthorn comes up with different theories to explain Lizzie’s disappearance before she becomes transfixed on one idea, a very unlikely idea, but the more she tries to justify it, the more it makes sense to her. But what really happened to Lizzie? Did she runaway? Was she killed? Kidnapped…?

I think the reason I am finding myself struggling with this book review is that I didn’t really enjoy The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett. Honestly, it felt somewhat dull and uneventful and I was not particularly fond of any of the characters. The book was written well and I would have enjoyed it more I feel if our main character didn’t feel so whiny and naive and well, obsessive.

One thing I found really frustrating about Hawthorn’s obsession with investigating Lizzie and her disappearance is the fact she barely even knew Lizzie. It might have been more interesting and emotional to read from the perspective of a character closer to Lizzie’s character, rather than Hawthorn who is basically an outsider. Not only that, but Hawthorn was horrible and insensitive to those that actually were affected by the disappearance and she was so self-centred.

I found the title of this book to be a bit misleading too. I mean, The Hundred Lies? What lies exactly is this title referring to? Were there really a hundred? Hm…

Overall, I felt this book had more potential. Sedoti is clearly a good writer, but I didn’t enjoy this story and I found it boring. I rate this 2/5.

-driftinglexi

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

*I received a digital copy of this book from NetGalley to read and review, giving my honest and unbiased opinion.

Leave a Reply

