Review: Flawed by Cecelia Ahern.

“If you make a mistake, you learn from it. If you never make a mistake, you’re never the wiser.” – Cecelia Ahern.

flawedDespite the fact that Ahern is a fairly well know author in the young adult world, Flawed* is the first book of hers that I have ever actually read.

Flawed is the story of Celestine, a perfect girl. Perfect behaviour, perfect grades, perfect boyfriend. Celestine lives in a society that is so focused and obsessed with being perfect that those who are imperfect are quite literally branded Flawed and ostracised from society. Following this society’s rules of perfection has never been a problem for Celestine until someone she knows is branded and she is faced with a difficult situation where her morals force her to do something that society deems wrong.

I really enjoyed reading Flawed. The setting was different, but it wasn’t like a whole new world, it still had elements of familiarity and Ahern did a great job at capturing emotions, making it feel more realistic. I actually sped through this book pretty fast which is a surprise for someone who is coming out of a lengthy reading slump, but if I hadn’t had work I would have probably read this entire book within one sitting.  I found it so difficult to put down and was always eager to pick it up again.

When I was reading this book, I had not actually realised that it was the first in a series. As a result I initially thought that the book was a little slow as Celestine doesn’t actually get labelled Flawed until roughly halfway through and then I spent the latter half of the book wondering when Carrick was going to show and what was going to happen with him. Upon realising that this was actually a series, I was happy with everything that happened because this hopefully means that in the sequel we will have a lot of Carrick and I’m glad the whole Flawed process wasn’t skipped because it really enabled us to connect with Celestine’s character and, of course, develop a lovely hatred towards Judge Crevan.

I wasn’t one hundred percent happy with the ending of the book. In the last scene one of the other judges shows up and it felt a bit unnecessary because there was already enough of a cliffhanger hanging over without the need of this extra conversation which could have even waited until the opening of the next book if Ahern was planning on picking up exactly where she left off.

Overall, I found Flawed enjoyable to read and I am intrigued to see where the sequel takes us. I also think I will have to check out some more of Ahern’s novels (if you have any recommendations please leave me some in the comments!) and as for Flawed, I rate it 4/5.

-driftinglexi

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

*I received a digital copy of this book from NetGalley to read and review, giving my honest and unbiased opinion.

Leave a Reply

