Review: Dracula by Bram Stoker.

“There are darknesses in life and there are lights, and you are one of the lights, the light of all lights.” ― Bram Stoker.

draculaNot everyone has read Dracula, but I reckon a good portion of you are somewhat familiar with the story in the sense that you know what it is about: vampires and, of course, the most famous vampire in any form of media, Count Dracula himself.

Dracula is regarded as a classic and I thought it would be a very appropriate book to read around this time of year with Halloween having just passed. Last year for Halloween I read Frankenstein (review here) and I’ll be honest, I didn’t particularly enjoy it. I found it rather boring and didn’t find it easy to read at all. As a result of this, I was a bit scared of reading Dracula because it was a book I really wanted to enjoy and fortunately, it did not disappoint.

The first thing I really enjoyed about this book is the format in which it is written. Dracula is written in, for the most part, a series of diary entries which flit between the major characters of the story, so we get to hear events firsthand from their journal entries and this grants us access to their exact thoughts and feelings throughout the novel. This made the characters all feel very real and enabled a deeper connection between them and the reader as throughout the novel I was ever-growing fond of these characters.

I also found the format to be a pleasant surprise because I had no idea beforehand that the book would be set out this way and if you’ve read a great deal of my previous book related blog posts then you will know that I love novels written in an epistolary format.

We start off reading a great chunk of the book from Jonathan Harker’s perspective which I really enjoyed. As a result, I wasn’t too keen on the sudden change to the viewpoint of other characters who I was not so familiar with. Nevertheless, I slowly grew to like these characters and became engrossed in their story and how it later connected with Jonathan’s who also later returned to us as a contributor to the novel through his diary entries once again.

The language could be a little difficult to read and get your head around at times, but for the most part it was a pleasure to read and understand. The parts I probably had most difficulty with were when passages were written in the accent of a different character and words were written phonetically. However, at the same time this was a really effective way of making the story more realistic and creating more distinctive characters.

As this is the first book review and in fact post I have written for a couple of weeks, I am going to wrap things up here instead of going into more detail. As a whole, I did enjoy this book and rate it 4/5.

Before I sign off, as I just mentioned, I haven’t posted for a couple of weeks now. Apologies for the sudden period of silence, but after all of the blogging for blogtober I just felt like I needed a little break, especially with blogmas right around the corner now which I fully intend to do again this year. For the rest of November, blog posts may be a bit scattered, but I am still here, I’m not going anywhere.

Have you read Dracula? Did you enjoy it?

-driftinglexi

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

3 thoughts on “Review: Dracula by Bram Stoker.

Leave a Reply

