Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J. K. Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne.

harry-potter-and-the-cursed-childWhen I first heard of the creation of Harry Potter and the Cused Child I was already wary of it. However, it being something related to Harry Potter and connected to Rowling, I knew that no matter what I had to know about it and so, as soon as tickets for the play went on sale I bought tickets. I’m not here to talk about the play though, I have a whole other post on that which you can read here. This time, I am going to be discussing the book.

The book isn’t a novel, it’s a script of the play. Having seen the play before the book came out no surprises were left for me, but that’s okay. No matter which I had come across first, the play would have always been better because that is the medium the story was meant to be told in and because it was a script it missed some amazing parts of the play, although I won’t go into detail about that, #KeepTheSecrets and all.

After reading the script I had no idea where to start with my review of it, in fact, I’m still unsure where I am going with this review. As a result I decided to leave it a while, plus reviews of this book were flying around the book world left, right and centre, so instead of adding to the hurricane of Harry Potter madness, I decided to wait until all the fuss had died down.

I really enjoyed the play, but despite the book being the same story, I didn’t enjoy it so much. This is because when you’re reading it you’re able to focus a lot more on the plot which is both good and bad. In this case it is bad because I had a few problems with the plot as some things didn’t really make sense and some things just didn’t fit right with what we already knew about the Wizarding World and the characters we already knew.

On the other hand, one thing I really loved were some of the characters. I really loved Delphie, through part one at least. I absolutely adored Scorpius too and I enjoyed the scenes between him and Rose. I have mixed feelings on Albus still because in the play I thought he was a bit annoying and I can’t get that impression out of my head.

The old, familiar characters from the original series I really loved too, especially Hermione, Harry and Ginny and even Draco. I also liked the fact that they brought a few other characters back into it for a few scenes, it was really unexpected and enjoyable. I especially loved Moaning Myrtle, as always.

Overall, the book does have its flaws, but I also felt it worked really well as a play. Also, since the play is currently only London based, releasing the script was a lovely idea because it makes it available worldwide as London obviously isn’t an easy place for a lot of people to get to. Overall, I rate this 3/5.

While I liked that Cursed Child was released in book form, I am very unsure on the upcoming release of the screenplay of Fantastic Beasts coming out. I want to buy it because it’s connected to the Harry Potter world, but on the other hand, it’s obviously going to be so much more enjoyable in movie format. Plus, I don’t see the point of it as in general, movies are easily accessible. What are your thoughts on this? Will you buy the book?

Also, what were your thoughts on Cursed Child?

-driftinglexi

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

One thought on “Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J. K. Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne.

Leave a Reply

