Review: Percy Jackson and the Greek Gods by Rick Riordan.

percy-jackson-and-the-greek-godsRecently, I started a new job which means that I have a spare hour in the middle of the day now (AKA my lunch break) on my own. As a result, I have decided to use this time for reading because I find it tough finding time to read at home. So, lately I have been reading Percy Jack and the Greek Gods in my lunch breaks and I finished it today.

I am sure plenty of you are aware of the character Percy Jackson and this book is written, well, by him. Or rather, by Riordan in the style of Percy Jackson and how he would talk. Through this book, Percy tells us all about the Greek Gods with lots of fun and interesting stories about the twelve major gods as well as a few others.

I found this really enjoyable to read because you can easily read a chapter at a time like I did without losing your sense of what’s going on. This is because each chapter focuses on a different god and within each chapter there are a few stories, therefore making it a good book to flick in and out of.

As someone who loves reading about the greek gods, this book clearly appealed to me straight away. I loved learning about different gods and hearing stories about them that I had never heard before, or even rehearing ones that I already was kind of aware of.

Another thing which made this book highly enjoyable was the fact that it is written using Percy’s voice. From all of Riordan’s previous novels on greek mythology containing Percy Jackson, we all love him and are all familiar with his humour, therefore making this book a pleasure to read because not only do we have a character we all know and love talking us through the gods, but we have a funny character which adds a little more humour and interest to each story.

My only fault with this book is that at times it felt a little too aimed at children. I know that this is technically a children’s book, but I am also aware that a lot of young adults like myself enjoy the Percy Jackson books, therefore some small bits did seem a bit too much and unnecessary. Perhaps I’m just getting too old for Percy Jackson though?

Overall, I loved reading all about the greek gods and seeing a bigger focus on them, especially since in the Percy Jackson books there is more focus on the demigods. It was also quite nice coming back into the Percy Jackson world as it has been a little while since reading one of Riordan’s books. I rate this 4/5.

What did you think of Percy Jackson and the Greek Gods?

-driftinglexi

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Bloglovin‘ | Pinterest YouTube

Leave a Reply

