Review: Tales of the Peculiar by Ransom Riggs.

tales-of-the-peculiarTales of the Peculiar is a book mentioned in Riggs’ series Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children. It is a book of tales, peculiar tales. The kind of tales that Peculiar children would have heard growing up, like fairy tales. If I was to compare this book to another, I’d say it’s a little like what The Tales of Beedle the Bard are to the Harry Potter series.

However, Tales of the Peculiar is larger, both this copy that’s been published and the original from the books which contains all of the peculiar tales (there are a lot). This book Riggs has put together for us consists of ten peculiar tales. Each story is very different with a diverse range of characters with their own, very diverse, peculiarities.

I found this book of tales highly enjoyable and definitely recommend it to anyone who loved the original series. I really liked reading all of the short stories, I especially liked that I could read a whole tale before bed every night over ten days.

In the Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series we meet Millard. I adored Millard, he was a very clever character with the peculiarity of invisibility. We come across him again in Tales of the Peculiar and no, he isn’t in his own tale – those were written long before he was born, I’m sure – but he does leave editor’s notes throughout the book both at the beginning and around a few of the tales. I really liked this little addition because it bought us back to one of the characters who we loved and are familiar with from the original series and so it was nice to have a bit of insight from him.

Another aspect of this book I fell in love with which really cannot be ignored are the illustrations. The presentation of this book is marvellous, starting with the gorgeous front cover. The green and the gold go together so well and I think the hardback format of this book suits the style so well. I also love how in the gold detail there’re images from tales within the novel e.g. a locust, a bird etc. And the wondrous illustrations don’t stop there either; they’re dotted all throughout the book! I was tempted to include photos, but I do think it’s something you’d want to see for yourself first.

I have absolutely no faults with this collection of short stories, only love. Each tale was unique and interesting and I loved it all. I rate this book 5/5 and most definitely recommend it.

Have you read Tales of the Peculiar? What did you think? Which tale was your favourite?

Personally, I think my favourite may have been The Girl Who Could Tame Nightmares.

If you fancy reading more peculiar themed posts of mine I have some more here-

Lastly, did you know that I am currently hosting a giveaway? Check it out here.

-driftinglexi

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Bloglovin‘ | Pinterest YouTube

Leave a Reply

