Movie: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.

Miss Peregrines Home for Peculiar ChildrenEarlier this evening I went to the cinema to watch the recently released Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. You may recall that not too long ago I posted reviews of each of the books in the Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series. I absolutely loved these books and greatly enjoyed them, so despite a few concerns, I was very excited for the movie.

For today’s blog post, I have decided to share my thoughts on this movie. Of course, because the showing I went to was at 6:30pm though, it has meant that my blog post has gone up later than usual, so apologies for that. Nevertheless, I hope you enjoy this post and I’d love to hear your thoughts about the movie in the comments.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children features a few well-known actors, such as Samuel L. Jackson and Judi Dench. The actor I was most interested in however, was Eva Green who plays Miss Peregrine herself. I was really pleased with this casting decision and while I do have some issues with the film, I think that Eva was a really good Miss Peregrine.

Since I have already started discussing actors, let’s talk about the other characters next, or more specifically, the peculiar children. It was made aware beforehand that the characters of Emma and Olive would be switching peculiarities. This really bothered me at first and to be honest, even after seeing the movie I still don’t understand why they made the switch, but what bothered me even more was Olive’s character. They aged her up and I didn’t like her personality and relationship with Enoch (except for a bit at the end anyway, I liked that). The only explanation I can come up with for the peculiarity switch is for the sake of love interests; Emma having Olive’s original ability enabled for more cutesy and intimate moments between her and Jacob. Meanwhile, Olive having Emma’s original peculiarity gave her a bigger part to play and it made her a better match for Enoch.

Despite this, I was quite happy with the casting of all the rest of the characters as well as their personalities. I feel like for the most part they were depicted well throughout the movie. Of course, we did also have the addition of two new children in the movie, the twins, and we didn’t find a lot out about them at the beginning of the movie like we did the other children. I suppose by making us wait so long to see their peculiarity it was able to surprise even the readers of the book; but saying that, there were lots of surprises for us regardless.

I feel that the movie started quite well – it had potential – but I’ve ended up have quite a few issues with it. I know that matching a movie exactly up to the original novel isn’t exactly realistic, but they made some drastic changes to the plot. I loved the scene with the ship and I found the scene with the skeletons entertaining. However, I didn’t like when the children were throwing snowballs and the like at the hollows to make them visible.

Now, that’s just one of the more minor things I didn’t like about the film. Let’s talk about that ending. Firstly, it was rounded off “pretty well”. Does this mean that they’re not making Hollow City into a film? But there’s so much more, there’s so much more to the plot! What about the menagerie and Miss Peregrine’s brothers and London? If they are planning on continuing the series, I have no idea how they would go about it.

Secondly, it didn’t make sense. Even if you ignore the incredible work Riggs’ has done in his novels, the movie ending doesn’t make sense. I don’t understand it. Is it just me? It makes no sense how he suddenly goes home and his grandfather is alive. And to be honest, I just didn’t like it. It felt so ordinary and unoriginal, like Rory waiting two thousand years for Amy in Doctor Who. I felt like I’d seen this ending before.

Overall, I wasn’t very impressed with the movie. I really liked the darker scenes, although parents in the cinema with young children didn’t seem very fond of all the eyeballs and such as two families ended up walking out! I feel that the movie felt very child-like in some ways and somewhat adult in others which makes it inconsistent and less of a pleasure to watch.

Again, while I cannot hide my worries towards to possibility of more films being created, I would also be interested in watching them, just to see where the series goes, but I wouldn’t have high expectations either.

Have you seen Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children? What did you think?

-driftinglexi

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Bloglovin‘ | Pinterest YouTube

2 thoughts on “Movie: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.

Leave a Reply

