Review: Pottemore Presents Short Stories by J. K. Rowling.

It’s the month of Halloween! I can easily associate Harry Potter with almost any time of the year, but especially Halloween. For starters, there are the glorious Halloween feasts at Hogwarts and it is the anniversary of Nearly Headless Nick’s deathday. However, the most significant part of Halloween in relation to Harry Potter is that it marks the sad death of Lily and James Potter and the day Harry became the boy who lived. As a result, with the recent release of new stories from the Wizarding World, this month is the ideal time to post my reviews.

Pottermore Presents is a series of three novellas made up of short stories revolving around different aspects of Rowling’s Wizarding World of Harry Potter. How big a fan I am of the main novels is no secret, so it’s not at all surprising that I had to purchase these novellas once available, although unfortunately, they are only available online.

To my knowledge, the short stories contained in these books have all (or at least some) been previously published on Pottermore and while I did like Pottermore, I never really read a lot of the extra pieces of writing Rowling put on there. As a result of this I hadn’t read any of these short stories and thus they were all new to me.

Originally, I was going to write separate reviews on each of the ebooks, but I quickly realised that there is only so much I can say about approximately 60-70 pages of text. As a result, following a quick Twitter poll, I have put all of my reviews together.


Short Stories from Hogwarts of Heroism, Hardship and Dangerous Hobbies

potter-presents-1In this selection of short stories we learn a lot more of the backstories of two of my favourite characters in the entire series: Minerva McGonagall and Remus Lupin.

It was really great reading about these characters that I love and reading about Remus made me slightly tearful, but nevertheless, the short stories were lovely little reads.

Out of the three ebooks, this is possibly my favourite. This is likely due to the presence of those two characters I love, therefore making the writings more enjoyable to me.

pottermore-presents-2Short Stories from Hogwarts of Power, Politics and Pesky Poltergeists

While the previous book was the first in this Pottermore Presents series, I actually ended up reading this book first. As a result, I initially found myself being slightly disappointed because I had expected more fun tales from certain characters’ pasts, rather than just a brief history. Nevertheless, these stories were very informative and I loved hearing more about the history of certain characters and places within the Wizarding World.

Hogwarts: An Incomplete and Unreliable Guide

pottermore-presents-3While I am sure that Hogwarts: A History is ginormous, this is a lovely small size and a quick read for us Harry Potter lovers eager to hear more about Hogwarts due to that fact that we devastatingly were unable to attend ourselves.

Similar to the previous two books of short stories, this book revealed a lot of new information to us about Hogwarts including locations within the castle, lessons and ghosts. I enjoyed hearing more character backstories and getting some more history on magical objects. The title is obviously right in saying that this is incomplete, but I would say this was fairly reliable because a lot of what is written makes sense with what we already know about the Wizarding World, although of course, there are some facts that are lost in history. I know this is a fictional world, but details, or even a lack of details for the right reasons only aids how realistic and thought out a world this is that Rowling has created.

In one of the short stories we uncover some more about Hufflepuff house. I may not consider myself a Hufflepuff, but I still found this interesting to read about because in the main series we learn so much about Gryffindor and even Slytherin. Ravenclaw may not be discussed the most, but one very loved character, Luna, is a member of that house and there’s also Cho, plus we get to see the inside of their common room. Meanwhile, I feel that Hufflepuff is very underrated as we don’t really read that much about it. There are a couple of minor Hufflepuff characters consistent in the series, plus there is Cedric and Tonks, but we don’t get as much revealed to us about their house e.g. what their common room is like and how it’s accessed, so this ebook certainly provides that missing bit of information and I’m sure that the members of Hufflepuff house appreciated this entry.

Another aspect of this book that I enjoyed was a certain poem. I didn’t expect this, but enjoyed it nonetheless. I always enjoyed the Sorting Hat’s songs at the Sorting Ceremonies, and while this wasn’t the Sorting Hat’s poem, it was still enjoyable and a different way of revealing a bit more history to us about someone we would have otherwise not heard more about.

Overall, I really enjoyed reading all of these short stories and rate each ebook 5/5. Also, in all honesty, I found these to be really refreshing to read because it put me back into that magical world we all know and love and made me feel somewhat nostalgic and it was even relieving to read these after having read Cursed Child. Did anyone else feel like that?

Upon reflection, the last ebook in the series could probably have been okay having a post all to itself, hehe. Unsurprisingly, after that long review it is a strong contender for being my favourite of the Pottermore Presents series, but I also can’t ignore my love for hearing all about McGonagall and Lupin.

Have you read any of these short stories?

What did you think?

Which was your favourite?

-driftinglexi

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Bloglovin‘ | Pinterest YouTube

2 thoughts on “Review: Pottemore Presents Short Stories by J. K. Rowling.

Leave a Reply

