September Book Haul 2016.

September Book Haul 2016.jpg

Last month I didn’t do a book haul because I was on a book ban which I successfully stuck to. However, I couldn’t stay away from Waterstones forever and so this month I did do a bit of spending. In total I bought eleven books this month, although two of them I actually forgot to include in the photo above and the other three are ebooks.

Let’s begin with those in the photo:

  • Tales of the Peculiar by Ransom Riggs
  • Nevernight by Jay Kristoff
  • The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying by Marie Kondo
  • The Haters by Jesse Andrews
  • The Ask and the Answer by Patrick Ness
  • Silence is Goldfish by Annabel Pitcher.

Tales of the Peculiar:

tales-of-the-peculiarA few months ago I fell in love with Riggs’ Peculiar Children series. Tales of the Peculiar is a book mentioned within the series, so I was thrilled when I heard that Riggs was actually writing it.

This book is made up of short stories, or tales, on the peculiar. These are the type of stories that Peculiars would have heard growing up, like how we have fairy tales and how wizards from Harry Potter would have had The Tales of Beedle the Bard.

As a soon as I got my hands on this book I started reading it and I especially loved reading a different tale every night before I went to bed. I have finished this now, but I do not yet have a book review up. I am working on it though, so just keep an eye out!

In the meantime, I do have reviews on the original series here.

nevernight-ukNevernight:

I absolutely love the front cover of this book, but that’s what attracted me to it. I picked this book up because of the author. Jay Kristoff was also one of the writers of Illuminae which I recall raving on and on about earlier this year, so I was eager to read more of his writing.

Since I haven’t gotten round to reading this yet, I have the synopsis from Goodreads:

Destined to destroy empires, Mia Covere is only ten years old when she is given her first lesson in death.

Six years later, the child raised in shadows takes her first steps towards keeping the promise she made on the day that she lost everything.

But the chance to strike against such powerful enemies will be fleeting, so if she is to have her revenge, Mia must become a weapon without equal. She must prove herself against the deadliest of friends and enemies, and survive the tutelage of murderers, liars and demons at the heart of a murder cult.

The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying:

the-life-changing-magic-of-tidyingI think it was about a year ago now that everyone seemed to be praising this book and I have finally decided to get it myself because I have been very into the idea of decluttering my space recently.

Goodreads description:

Transform your home into a permanently clear and clutter-free space with the incredible KonMari Method. Japan’s expert declutterer and professional cleaner Marie Kondo will help you tidy your rooms once and for all with her inspirational step-by-step method.

the-hatersThe Haters:

Andrews is also the author of Me and Earl and the Dying Girl which I greatly enjoyed, so I couldn’t resist picking up his new novel.

Having not yet read his new book I can’t really give a good overview of it, so I have the one from Goodreads:

For Wes and his best friend, Corey, jazz camp turns out to be lame. It’s pretty much all dudes talking in Jazz Voice. But then they jam with Ash, a charismatic girl with an unusual sound, and the three just click. It’s three and a half hours of pure musical magic, and Ash makes a decision: They need to hit the road. Because the road, not summer camp, is where bands get good. Before Wes and Corey know it, they’re in Ash’s SUV heading south, and The Haters Summer of Hate Tour has begun.

The Ask and the Answer:

the-ask-and-the-answerThis is the second novel in Ness’ Chaos Walking trilogy. I read this series years ago now and really enjoyed it, but I had borrowed the books from the library at school, so I’ve been buying them myself so that I can own the series.

A little while ago now I bought the first book and the third book had been gifted to me several years ago when it was released, so I’m happy to finally have the complete series which means that I can hopefully reread them all soon.

Since this book is a sequel I won’t include a description, but if you are interested here is a link to the Goodreads page.

silence-is-goldfishSilence is Goldfish:

This is another case of me buying a book based on the author. I have read Pitcher’s two previous novels and couldn’t resist picking up her third. Plus, I love the cover; is even has goldfish printed on the edges of the pages!

Here’s the overview from Goodreads:

My name is Tess Turner – at least, that’s what I’ve always been told.

I have a voice but it isn’t mine. It used to say things so I’d fit in, to please my parents, to please my teachers. It used to tell the universe I was something I wasn’t. It lied.

It never occurred to me that everyone else was lying too. But the words that really hurt weren’t the lies: it was six hundred and seventeen words of truth that turned my world upside down.

Tessie-T has never really felt she fitted in and after what she read that night on her father’s blog she knows for certain that she never will. How she deals with her discovery makes an entirely riveting, heart-breaking story told through Tess’s eyes as she tries to find her place in the world.

As I mentioned at the beginning of this post, there were two books I missed out as well as a few I bought in ebook form…

Leaf by Niggle by J. R. R. Tolkien:

leaf by niggleI recently discovered this short story by Tolkien set outside of the world of Lord of the Rings and I really enjoyed it.

Niggle is a painter. He is currently working on this one painting of a tree and day by day this painting is growing, expanding and Niggle is adding other, smaller pictures he’s created onto the edges. It’s not just a tree anymore, it’s a magnificent never-ending landscape, but with a neighbour in need and a journey he has to make quickly approaching, will Niggle ever finish his painting?

You can read my full review on this here.

grief is the thing with feathersGrief is the Thing With Feathers by Max Porter:

This is another short story and I enjoyed this too in a surprising way.

After the death of a woman, her two sons and husband are left grieving. During times of need they are visited by a crow who takes over as the family’s carer by looking after the kids and even the husband, or rather, widow. The Crow has been drawn to this family and he won’t leave until he is no longer needed.

You can check out my review on this book here.

Pottermore Presents by J. K. Rowling: 

At the start of the month these three ebooks were released providing us with additional insight on the world of Harry Potter. This includes information on characters, places, creatures and objects. I loved reading these and learning more about the harry Potter world, these are certainly a must for a Harry Potter fanatic. I have written reviews for these books, although these will not be going up until next Monday!

As you can see I have bought quite a few books this month, but considering I just came off a book ban that’s hardly surprising. There are so many books here that I’ve either greatly enjoyed already or I am just itching to read.

Have you read any of these books? How did you find them?

-driftinglexi

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Bloglovin‘ | Pinterest YouTube

2 thoughts on “September Book Haul 2016.

Leave a Reply

