MOTD: September 2016.

MOTD_ September 2016.jpg

I haven’t done a Makeup Of The Day post in ever so long and now that we’re getting into Autumn I feel that there is no better time. Autumn is the season full of my favourite kinds of makeup looks; gold/bronze/copper eyes and dark nudes and berry lips.

Since we’re still only in that little transitional period between Summer and Autumn right now, I haven’t started going full on with my dark and bright shades of red and purple toned lipsticks just yet. However, I have recently discovered this gorgeous brown-y nude shade that everyone has been donning lately with the 90s trend and I have finally jumped on that bandwagon and love it. However, details on this lipstick will come later…

Let’s begin with eyes. Eyes are usually the first aspect of my face I do when applying my makeup as it can be the messiest.

IMG_0715.jpg

To create this eye look I used a mixture of two palettes: the Zoeva Nude Spectrum palette and my Z palette of Makeup Geek eyeshadows.

IMG_0324

After priming my eyes with the Urban Decay Primer Potion in Eden (this is my favourite because it’s perfect for matte eyeshadows, but also for shimmery ones) I set the area with a pale nude, matte eyeshadow from my Nude Spectrum palette (labelled ND130 in the bottom left hand corner).

I then mixed two other matte shades in the palette (ND150 {second row in the middle} and ND080 {bottom row on the right}) – apologies that these eyeshadows have such uninteresting names by the way – and put them into the crease and blending them out into ND130. I then decided that I wanted to make the crease a bit warmer and also blended in Makeup Geek Frappe.

IMG_0717.jpg

For the outer corner I used a warm toned, dark brown shade, Makeup Geek Cocoa Bear, and took that slightly down onto the outer part of my lower lashline. Next I used the gorgeous warm rusty red shade shown above in the Zoeva palette (ND120) over my lid, blending it into the crease and Cocoa Bear. I have been drawn to this shade since day one of buying this palette and despite it looking quite bright it is surprisingly easy to work with.

The final shade I used from my Zoeva palette was a really pale gold for the inner part of the lid and the inner third of the lower lash line. This was the middle shade of the forth row, ND110.

IMG_0671.jpg

While I loved the rusty shade I use on my lid, I decided to go over it a little by my lash line with a foiled Makeup Geek eyeshadow in Grandstand and blended this into ND120. Since this was a foiled eyeshadow it gave the look a bit more of shimmer on the lid which I loved. Finally, I blended Frappe and ND150 from earlier together for the lower lashline.

Once done with eyeshadow I applied my favourite eyeliner, Soap and Glory Supercat and a combination of the NARS Audacious mascara and Maybelline Lash Sensational mascara in the waterproof formula.

IMG_0700.JPG

For my base I used a tiny bit of Collection Lasting Perfection concealer under my eyes because I love the coverage, plus it lasts really well. I’ve never taken much notice as to whether or not it’s lasted the sixteen hour wear it promises, but I’ve never noticed it’s not there when I’m wearing it either.

Foundation wise I used Rimmel Wake Me Up which is my favourite over the summer, especially because where it’s a bit darker than my other foundations it’s more suitable for my skin tone. After blending this out with my new Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge – a hype I have only just given into and I’m so glad I did – I then went in with the Miss Sporty Perfect Stay concealer under my eyes because while it doesn’t have as great coverage as the Collection concealer, it is brightening. After blending this out with the miracle complexion sponge I set everything with the Rimmel Stay Matte powder.

I love a bit of bronzer and today I used a bronzer from the Tanya Burr Cosmetics Rosy Flush cheek palette. I love this bronzer over the summer especially because it’s so warm and has amazing pigment. I also used a bit of my Becca X Jaclyn Hill Champagne Pop highlighter on the inner corners of my eye; I decided not to use it on my cheekbones because the Wake Me Up foundation has tiny bits of glitter in it.

IMG_0699.jpg

Brows are always my least favourite part of the makeup application process. Sometimes they cooperate, but let’s be honest, they usually do not. Last week I purchased a new eyebrow product which is from the new range of brow products by Benefit.

As a fan of brow pencils I decided to go for the Goof Proof Brow Pencil. This is similar to my usual brow pencil by Soap and Glory as it’s double ended with a pencil on one end and a spoolie on the other. However, the pencil on Goof Proof is straighter and angeled and today I definitely found this more useful in filling in my eyebrows and getting the shape right.

IMG_0698.JPG

The final part of this look now is the lips. This is probably my favourite part because I am a total lipstick fanatic. The past few weeks this is all I have been wearing on my lips; at home, to work, no matter where I am going when I leave the house. If anyone has seen me recently, this is what you will have seen on me. It’s such a versatile colour with different makeup looks, it’s really comfortable to wear, it lasts really well throughout the day and it is matte!

So, what is this colour?

It is MAC Whirl. I’ve heard it all over the place for months now and I was never interested. However, lately I’ve been wearing a lot of nude lipsticks, but I’ve also started wanting something a bit bolder and I feel that this is the perfect mix of the two. I absolutely love it.

IMG_0720.JPG

So that is my, very long, Makeup of the Day (perhaps that’s why I don’t do these often?). Nevertheless, I really enjoyed creating this look and I love how it’s turned out. I hope you all like it too.

-driftinglexi

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Bloglovin‘ | Pinterest YouTube

12 thoughts on “MOTD: September 2016.

Leave a Reply

