I Can’t Read.

I Can't Read.jpg

You may have noticed that on Monday I didn’t post a book review like I usually would. Last week I didn’t post one either because it was LUSH Week, so one wasn’t expected. However, you would think that if I had a week off I would be more likely to have read a book, right? Wrong. I haven’t finished a book in almost three weeks.

I suppose I’m in a bit of a reading slump. I still haven’t even finished Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. I’m reading it a few pages at a time and I’m honestly not all that bothered about it; I mean I know the plot as I saw the play, but after the play I was still excited to read it.

When I do read it, I can only hear the voices of the actors from the play as the characters and I think in a way it puts me off because, for example, Hermione doesn’t sound like the original Hermione in my head, so it all just sounds inconsistent to me and it doesn’t make it feel like Harry Potter even if the things she says are things Hermione would say. This is just something I’m going to have to get over though because it’s entirely a fault with my brain rather than a fault with the book and I will finish it… eventually.

Another book I have on the go at the moment is Scarlet by Marissa Meyer. I absolutely loved Cinder and while I’m not that far into Scarlet just yet, I am enjoying it. I love that it switches between this new character and our original favourite from the previous book, but I think I’m slightly put off that it isn’t all about Cinder since she’s the one we’re all attached to now. On the other hand, I don’t think this is necessarily dissuading me from picking up the book, like I said, I am enjoying it, I guess I’m just not in the mood for it.

A third book (yes, I have three ongoing books at the moment) I’m “reading” is Nevernight by Jay Kristoff. I have this in ebook form and that is entirely the problem. I am enjoying the story so far, but there’s just something about ebooks that puts me off reading. I’m only about 5% into it and I like it, I just don’t like the format of it on my phone, so I think I’ll be better off buying the the physical book.

Nonetheless, I reckon that the biggest explanation for my current reading slump is a lack of time and energy. Managing full time work and blogging is already hard, especially when you want to publish five posts a week, so throwing in a book to read every week can be really difficult.  I think I might have to get into short stories to try and ease myself back into reading as usually I spend all day on Sundays reading, but lately I just haven’t been in the mood, or I’ve had other aspects of the blog to pay attention to.

Anyway, hopefully, I’ll get out of this slump over the weekend and be able to get a review up on Monday. However, if there isn’t one, you know why…

How do you get yourself out of a reading slump?

Also, feel free to recommend short stories to me!

-driftinglexi

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Bloglovin‘ | Pinterest YouTube

14 thoughts on “I Can’t Read.

  1. Tash says:

    I had a recent revelation regarding reading slumps and that was to just read what I wanted and then balance it up with a book that I need to read. It’s helped me a lot. I hope that you get out of your reading slump soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Journal of a Bibliophile says:

    I watch a tv series or play a video game when I’m in a slump. I recently got into audiobooks to help me get through any boring parts that a book may have.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. sarahpratley says:

    When I’m in a reading slump I like to go into bookshops and look around and see what takes my fancy, it usually makes me feel excited about reading again! And I was really unsure about ebooks but I actually really love my kindle now (so convenient for the tube!) but I don’t think I’d enjoy reading on my phone either x

    https://sarahpratley.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Belinda O says:

    I’ve been in a reading slump for several years now because of a traumatic experience. It doesn’t sound like that’s what’s going on with you, but it does sound like you’re putting a lot of pressure on yourself and maybe that’s caught up with you. You’ll get past it. Don’t overthink it and add another burden to your load!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Bearded Sage says:

    There are usually a variety of reasons behind slumps, but in your case, I think it might be because you’re trying to divide your attention between several books. As someone who does that and has found that it tends to dissuade me from picking up any of the three for a good while at times, I’ve found that it serves better to pick one to go through with and read that before continuing the next.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

