July Favourites 2016.

July Favourites 2016

July has been a really good month in terms of discovering new favourites. There are lots of products you can see pictured above that I have absolutely fallen in love with this month and I also have a couple of objects not pictured…


Favourite book:

cinderI am late to join the hype surrounding The Lunar Chronicles series, but earlier this month I finally read the first book, Cinder by Marissa Meyer, and I enjoyed it ever so much.

After finishing it I went out and bought all of the other books in the series including Stars Above and Fairest, so when you see my July Book Haul this weekend, prepare for it to be very Lunar Chronicles heavy.

Now I could tell you all why I enjoyed this book, but that is what my book review is for (hehe).

Favourite eyeshadow palette:

After spotting the Zoeva Nude Spectrum Palette on BeautyBay for £5 off at the beginning of this month, I very quickly added it to my basket and purchased it. Ever since I have been head over heels in love with it and despite buying new eyeshadow products more recently, I still only want to use this palette.

Each shade is absolutely gorgeous and there’s a lovely mix of finishes. I love the matte shades, but the shimmery ones are so pretty that I can never resist putting those on my eyelids too! The colour pay off is amazing (except for the black shade, but black is a difficult colour to get right) and the eyeshadows last extremely well on the eyes throughout the day.

IMG_0448Favourite lipsticks (swatches below):

More often than not I am incapable of picking just one lipstick to feature as my favourite of the month. Usually, lately at least, my second favourite is a nude, but no, not this time, for July we’re going all out with bright, summery lips!

The first lipstick, pictured on the left, is the Clinique Pop Lip Color + Primer in the shade Poppy Pop. This is a gorgeous bright shade of coral with a warm, orange undertone. It is certainly an ideal shade for the summer months and the formula is amazing; it is pigmented, hydrates your lips and has pretty amazing staying power especially considering the fact that it’s moisturising too.

The second lipstick pictured above is MAC Chilli. This lipstick is red, but it has more of a burnt orange undertone and again is warm. In my opinion, this is the perfect lipstick for the summer and autumn months and even more perfect for nights out, though that doesn’t stop me from wearing it in the daytime too! Unlike the previous lipstick, this one is also matte which is probably my favourite finish of them all and it last so well and so long on the lips without being drying.

Clinique Poppy Pop and MAC Chilli.jpg

Favourite skincare:

IMG_0447I have two favourite skincare products this month, although the first borders the line between skincare and makeup. This is because it is the Eve Lom Radiance Perfected Tinted Moisturiser. Firstly, I didn’t buy this, but it was a free sample in a recent Space N. K. order and I instantly fell in love with it.

I am definitely someone who prefers lighter coverage foundations and lately, during the week, all I’ve been wearing is a BB cream, so I was very happy to receive this little sample as it enabled me to branch out more. This product is exactly what you would expect from a tinted moisturiser and it keeps my skin feeling so fresh and soft throughout the day. Dry skin? What dry skin?! I am in love with this stuff and it has been ideal to wear for work. However, this product does have one drawback: the price. The full size is a costly £48, so as much as I love this product, I’m not sure it’s one I’ll be purchasing. However, if you don’t mind splashing out, I definitely recommend this.

IMG_0445My second skincare product is Weleda Skin Food. Again, this is a product I didn’t purchase. Earlier this month I attended a blogger meet and one of the brands who attended were Weleda who generously gave each of us bloggers goody-bags which included a tube of their product Skin Food.

I am including this product because I personally love it after using it every day in some way, shape or form over the past few weeks. This product is aimed at dry and rough skin and the beauty of it is that you can use it anywhere. On your body, on your face, as a hand cream etc. When you first put it on it is a little greasy, but it absorbs fast, so it doesn’t last for long. Wherever I put this it successfully hydrates and moisturises and I can definitely see myself enjoying this even more in the winter months. I particularly like using this as either a night cream, or a face mask as it’s so nourishing.

Favourite brush:

IMG_0444.JPG

Another product I received from the blogger meet up was a makeup brush which the brand Nanshy kindly contributed to our goody-bags.  The brush we all received was their Fan Brush which really pleased me because it’s a brush I have been after for a long time now (although I would have been pleased with anything, ha). The brush is so soft and is incredible for applying highlighter as it picks up the right amount of powder and enables you to brush it on top of your cheekbones for a flawless highlight; I don’t think I will ever use another brush for my highlight.

Favourite event:

This month has been an amazing month event-wise. While it is tough to beat my trip to Disneyland Paris last month, this month has been wonderful. Firstly, as I briefly mentioned before, earlier this month I attended a blogger meet. This was the first blogger event I have ever attended so I was both excited and really nervous. I had a really great time, met some lovely bloggers, were introduced some amazing brands and it also gave me a new found confidence as I travelled there on my own via train without knowing anyone and not having a clue what to expect having never attended a meet before. It was such a fantastic experience and it’s definitely made me eager to attend more blogger events in the future. I also cannot neglect that this meet was organised by Chloe from Beauty and the Girl and she did such an incredible job.

Harry Potter and the Cursed ChildSecondly, I also took a trip to London this month. The purpose of the trip was to see the play Harry Potter and the Cursed Child and naturally, my friends and I took a wander through Oxford Street where lots of purchases were made in LUSH, Selfridges and even the Disney Store (you can see exactly what I bought here). I had such an amazing time in London with my best friends and you can hear about the play here (don’t worry, it’s spoiler-free).

hamiltonFavourite music:

I feel that I cannot ignore my love for a certain piece of music I’ve been constantly listening to for almost two weeks now, especially when I’ve been sharing my love for it so openly on Snapchat.

I am currently obsessed with the Hamilton soundtrack. For those who do not know, Hamilton is an American musical and I’ve very recently discovered it after the abundance of love displayed for it on BookTube over the past few weeks. At first I wasn’t that into it, but the more I listened the more I fell in love with it and the more emotionally attached I became to the characters within the musical and for over a week now I’ve been playing it on repeat. Seriously, yesterday I listened to the soundtrack five times throughout the day (I wish I was exaggerating) and I really enjoy listening to it while I’m at work.

As you can see I’ve had a lot of favourites this month including some products I am so grateful for. I would love to hear about what things you have been loving and if you’re familiar with absolutely anything I have mentioned above.

I hope you’ve all had a great month!

-driftinglexi

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Bloglovin‘ | Pinterest YouTube

 

