June Book Haul 2016.

IMG_0290.JPG

I didn’t go too crazy on books this month, but I also couldn’t resist picking up a few! After my big fail of a book ban last month I knew it was no good telling myself that I can’t buy any books since this month I had set myself no restrictions yet only bought four. As a result, instead of trying another book ban next month I am going to give myself a limit of four again.

So, what books did I buy?

  • Always With Love by Giovanna Fletcher.
  • Nightfall by Jake Halpern and Peter Kujawinski
  • Coraline an Other Stories by Neil Gaiman
  • How the Marquis Got His Coat Back by Neil Gaiman.

always with loveAlways With Love by Giovanna Fletcher:

Out of Giovanna’s novels thus far, my favourite of them has to be her first, Billy and Me. Giovanna’s latest novel happens to be a sequel of this book, so I couldn’t not pick it up as I love the characters of Billy and Sophie so much and can’t wait to see more of their lives.

Here is the synopsis from Goodreads:

Sophie’s got used to being the girlfriend of Billy Buskin, the biggest movie star in the world. Sort of.

But when she and Billy take a trip to visit his family in Los Angeles, she quickly discovers she’s totally unprepared for the chaos of Hollywood, the paparazzi and Billy’s controlling mother.

And when Billy extends his stay in LA, leaving Sophie to fly home to Rosefont Hill alone, it seems there’s more than just miles between them.

Now Sophie must decide if they can overcome their differences for good. Because not every love story lasts the distance . . .

nightfallNightfall by Jake Halpern and Peter Kujawinski:

This is a book I saw floating about a fair amount online, although I’m not sure what the general consensus is on it. Never mind though, this book has intrigued me and I am eager to forge my own opinion on it without being swayed by others.

The blurb from Goodreads:

On Marin’s island, sunrise doesn’t come every twenty-four hours—it comes every twenty-eight years. Now the sun is just a sliver of light on the horizon. The weather is turning cold and the shadows are growing long.

Because sunset triggers the tide to roll out hundreds of miles, the islanders are frantically preparing to sail south, where they will wait out the long Night.

Marin and her twin brother, Kana, help their anxious parents ready the house for departure. Locks must be taken off doors. Furniture must be arranged. Tables must be set. The rituals are puzzling—bizarre, even—but none of the adults in town will discuss why it has to be done this way.

Just as the ships are about to sail, a teenage boy goes missing—the twins’ friend Line. Marin and Kana are the only ones who know the truth about where Line’s gone, and the only way to rescue him is by doing it themselves. But Night is falling. Their island is changing.

And it may already be too late.

coralineCoraline and Other Stories by Neil Gaiman:

Plenty of you are likely familiar with Coraline from the movie and ever since I watched it I have been yearning to read the book, so I have finally bought it.

Coraline does have several front covers, but I was particularly drawn to this one. Plus this edition of the book also has additional short stories!

Goodreads overview:

When Coraline explores her new home, she steps through a door and into another house just like her own – except that things aren’t quite as they seem. There’s another mother and another father in this house and they want Coraline to stay with them and be their little girl. Coraline must use all of her wits and every ounce of courage in order to save herself and return home … but will she escape and will life ever be the same again?

how the marquis got his coat backHow the Marquis Got His Coat Back by Neil Gaiman:

Another Gaiman book!

I read by first Gaiman book recently, Stardustreview here – and clearly I enjoyed it as I picked up two of his books at once.

How the Marquis Got His Coat Back I have actually already read. This book is a short story and you can properly hear all about it in my book review here.

Like I said, I only bought four books this month, so that’s it!

What books have you read this month?

Have you read any of those I bought? Did you like them?

-driftinglexi

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Bloglovin‘ | Pinterest | YouTube

 

4 thoughts on “June Book Haul 2016.

Leave a Reply

