Review: A Courtroom of Ashes by C. S. Wilde.

a courtroom of ashesA digital copy of A Courtroom of Ashes was kindly sent to me by the author herself in exchange for my honest review.

A Courtroom of Ashes follows Santana Jones, a lawyer, who owns a very curious mirror. Satana’s soul is dragged through the mirror into the world of Death by an evil spirit who belongs on the other side and now she has to find a way to get back to her body before the evil spirit creates any more damage and wreaks havoc on the living world.

I really liked this book, in fact, I even included it in my June Favourites. Wilde’s writing is easy to read, gripping and really enjoyable.

At first I wasn’t too keen on our main character, Santana. She seemed too… almost perfect and bad-ass. I mean the word perfect rather loosely because if you have read this book you will know that she isn’t perfect, but that’s okay. Many past faces from Santana’s life pop up while she’s in Death, enabling her to realise the consequences to her past actions, but she is only human and the more I heard about her past and present, the more I started to like her. I also really liked reading the sections with court cases.

I really enjoyed the characters of Irving, Mama Na Se and Barry in particular and of course the story has a great villain, Red Seth. I did like John too, but I definitely enjoyed the fantasy and supernatural aspect of this book more compared to the romance part, though that is just my personal preference as stories go.

Throughout the book I definitely grew more and more attached to these characters and I absolutely loved the ending Wilde wrote, it couldn’t have been more brilliant. I feel she rounded everything off perfectly, leaving me very satisfied as a reader.

Overall, I definitely recommend this novel to lovers of the supernatural and romance. Wilde has created this wonderful and unique world and it’s one you won’t forget any time soon. I rate this 4/5.

Have you read A Courtroom of Ashes? What did you think?

C. S. Wilde also has WordPress and you can check out her site here.

-driftinglexi

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Bloglovin‘ | Pinterest | YouTube

One thought on “Review: A Courtroom of Ashes by C. S. Wilde.

  1. C.S. Wilde says:

    Reblogged this on C.S. Wilde and commented:
    Oh look! A great review of A Courtroom of Ashes, yay! This made my day ^_^ Did I mention ACOA is also a Bookmuse recommended read? Why, yes it is.
    Don’t forget to check the reviewer’s blog, it’s pretty damn awesome, you guys!

    Like

Leave a Reply

