Review: Summer Days and Summer Nights Edited by Stephanie Perkins.

I was kindly sent this book through Macmillan Children’s Books and Big Shot in exchange for an honest review.

summer days and summer nightsSummer Days and Summer Nights is an anthology consisting of twelve short stories. These stories all have a common theme: summer romance. These may all be love stories, but they are each different in their own way.

Originally, I was going to do mini reviews on each of the short stories, but I’ve discovered a lot of my thoughts revolving around the stories are rather similar. Because of this, I do not want to make this review repetitive and longer than it needs to be and, of course, I do not want to bore you all in the process.

I really enjoyed this collection of short stories. As a whole they were cute, full of humour, diversity, and of course love. There were also stories of fantasy and horror which I greatly enjoyed too as I am a fan of fantasy novels and thrillers. This also helped make each story it’s own because while the overall theme was love and romance, they all had their own themes and genres outside of that, making each of them interesting and intriguing.

These twelve stories are written by twelve different authors and it is highly likely you will already be familiar with a couple of them:

  • Leigh Bardugo
  • Nina LaCour
  • Libba Bray
  • Francesca Lia Block
  • Stephanie Perkins
  • Tim Federle
  • Veronica Roth
  • Jon Skovron
  • Brandy Colbert
  • Cassandra Clare
  • Jennifer E. Smith
  • Lev Grossman.

One of these authors, Stephanie Perkins, is who edited all of these books together. This author is who first drew me to requesting this book because I have been dying to read Stephanie Perkins’ books for the longest time. I still haven’t read Anna and the French Kiss, but after reading her short story in this book I know it is only a matter of time until I do read it because her short story was one of my favourites.

A good thing about collections of short stories like these is that you may come for one author, but through them you also read some work by other authors and as a result it is a good way of introducing yourself to a new author, without the commitment of a big book. For example, I really enjoyed Tim Federle’s writing and would love to read more of it, also I just found out that he has written a few cocktail books which have me even more eager to read his work!

Arguably, romance stories can be quite predictable, but in many cases throughout this book I didn’t find that. The endings are as unique as the beginnings in each of these short stories. There are different characters in different kinds of relationships in different settings and these relationships are very different too and take the characters down their own different routes.

Overall, I really enjoyed this anthology and definitely recommend it to fans of any of the authors listed above and fans of romance and short stories.

If you enjoyed this book too, why not check out my review of How They Met and Other Stories, another anthology of stories of love.

Have you read Summer Days and Summer Nights? What were your thoughts?

-driftinglexi

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

4 thoughts on “Review: Summer Days and Summer Nights Edited by Stephanie Perkins.

  1. Ashleigh says:

    I just finished reading Stephanie Perkins’ Anna and the French Kiss trilogy today and absolutely adored it, so I’ve just added this to my TBR while I’m still in the romance mood ❤ Lovely review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

