Simple Skincare.

About a month ago I found myself in need of some new skincare products. Simple was a brand I really liked when I was younger, so I thought I would give it another try now to test whether or not their products are actually effective on my skin, or whether thirteen year old me just liked the packaging and I just fondly remember it as the first skincare brand I ever tried as a result.

Simple was on a 3 for 2 in Boots at this time, so I went a little wild and bought six of their products and I’m going to talk you through all of them…

simple skincare.jpg

Kind to Skin Vital Vitamin Day Cream:

Simple have a few face moisturisers, so I was a bit unsure which to go for. In the end I settled for this so that I could a) buy the matching night cream and b) because I much prefer creams in a pot than a tube as it means I can scoop out all the product and I’m not squeezing a tube to death hoping a little bit of product will crawl out near the end of it’s life span.

I have been using this day cream everyday for a month now (twice a day when I was in Disneyland Paris). I really like it because you only need a tiny bit to cover your whole face; a little goes a long way. Plus it is rather thin, but also effective at keeping the moisture in, therefore making it ideal to put on first thing in the morning before applying makeup. Another great thing about this product is that it contains SPF which I’m sure really helped protect my face from the sun while I was on holiday.

Kind to Skin Vital Vitamin Night Cream:

As I mentioned, I bought the matching night cream. This is definitely more intense compared to the day cream which means it is perfect for wearing overnight and I always wake up to soft, hydrated skin. Similarly, a little goes a long way with this moisturiser. Due to the nature of night creams, obviously this product is more effective at moisturising my skin; however it is far more suited for night use than day use and since using both the day and night creams I haven’t had any problems with my naturally dry skin.

Kind to Eyes Eye Makeup Remover:

This simply does what it says, it removes makeup. I feel that this does it’s job well, although it’s not as effective with waterproof mascara. Most makeup removers are generally the same, so this isn’t exactly an exciting product to talk about, but nevertheless, it is still a good product.

Kind to Skin Deep Cleansing Face Mask:

A little while ago in my Spring Empties I mentioned a face mask which was different to any I had ever used before. This is because it was a white cream, it looked like a moisturiser, which goes clear when applied. Now this face mask, despite those similarities, is very different to the other cream face mask I had used. For starters, while this always leaves my face feeling lovely and soft, it isn’t as nourishing. I’m a bit on the fence with this product, it is supposed to be cleansing and while I feel like this is kind of true, I’m not sure if it has actually made any kind of different to my skin. As a result, I do prefer my LUSH face masks.

Kin to Eyes Revitalising Eye Roll-On:

I get so tired during the mornings because I start work at 6 am, so I decided to throw this into my basket to make up a 3 for 2 offer. This product is designed to help you feel more awake by reducing puffiness and cooling the eye area. I have used it a few times and I did like it, but I did find it was not the best at combating the kind of tiredness I dealt with at work. You know when your eyes are tired and all puffy and hot? That’s when this product works best. This is because the gel in the tube is cooling which eases the hotness and the puffiness assisting you in feeling more refreshed and awake. While at work I don’t tend to get that hot feeling unless the room is really warm and as a result it isn’t as effective in this situation.

Kind to Skin Cleansing Facial Wipes:

I am a lover of face wipes despite arguments that they are bad for your skin. I love using them in the morning when they are wet to have a quick swipe around my face; I feel like this helps wake me up a bit and prepares my skin for my moisturiser as it soaks in quicker if your skin is a little damp. Because this doesn’t make my wipe dirty, I then let it dry out so that I can re-use the wipe later that day with some makeup remover in order to remove most of my makeup.

I cannot really say how well these typically work for removing makeup, but I like them for how I use them. All the wipes in the packet are wet which is always ideal – sometimes if you buy from cheaper brands the top half of the back will be fairly dry and the bottom few will be soaking wet – and they’re probably some of the best wipes I have used, especially from such an affordable brand.

Overall, Simple have definitely impressed me, particularly with their day and night creams, makeup remover, eye roll-on and face wipes. The only disappointment to me was the face mask, so 5/6 isn’t bad.

What do you think of Simple Skincare?

-driftinglexi

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

 

7 thoughts on “Simple Skincare.

Leave a Reply

