Review: The Looking Glass House by Vanessa Tait.

“There was always adversity in the opening chapter. It would not make sense otherwise.” – Vanessa Tait.

Welcome to Disney Week! 

Those of you who are up to date will be aware and hopefully have been anticipating this week since I announced that I would be doing a Disney Week on my blog from June 6th (today!). However, if you missed that post you can catch up here

For the rest of you, let’s jump into Day One…

For day one of Disney Week I am doing a review (it is still Mthe looking glass houseonday, after all) on a book inspired by the well-known story of Alice in Wonderland. This book is The Looking Glass House by Vanessa Tait.

Tait is the great-granddaughter of Alice Liddell, Alice Liddell being the inspiration for Lewis Caroll’s Alice in Wonderland. The story itself, The Looking Glass House, is the story of the real Alice Liddell; however this is still a work of fiction with bits of reality mixed in. The author of Alice in Wonderland, Lewis Caroll, is also a character in this story under the name of Charles Dodgson, so with all these links to the original book, it was no wonder I was interested in reading this novel.

I have to be honest, this book was rather disappointing. From the blurb I was actually convinced I wouldn’t enjoy it anyway, but I had hope that I would change my mind and end up getting really into the story. Unfortunately, this did not happen.

I found the story to be rather boring and uninteresting to me. All I was really interested in was Alice and Charles, but this interest didn’t last long because I quickly found that I didn’t even like any of the characters. This includes out main character, Mary, too. Reading about them wasn’t really enjoyable and I found myself not really caring about the characters and what happened to them.

On the other hand, one thing I did like about the novel was the writing. I did enjoy Tait’s writing style even if I didn’t enjoy what she was writing about.

I also cannot neglect to mention how stunning that book cover is! It is certainly what first drew me to the book. Does it look familiar? It looks so much like The Night Circus which I absolutely adored, so I had hoped that the covers had been designed similarly to indicate that there are similarities between the books. Sadly, this wasn’t the case and this book really lacked that sense of magic I had been hoping for.

Overall, I rate this book 2/5. I enjoyed the style of the writing but not much else. I think this book would be better suited for those who are real big Alice in Wonderland fans and while I love it, maybe I just don’t love it enough.

I hate that I’ve started off Disney Week with a book I didn’t particularly enjoy, but you can’t love every book you stumble across, even if it does have Disney connections.

Have you read any books inspired by Disney? I’d love to hear about them in the comments!

-driftinglexi

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

2 thoughts on “Review: The Looking Glass House by Vanessa Tait.

Leave a Reply

