Review: How the Marquis Got His Coat Back by Neil Gaiman.

how the marquis got his coat backI have been a bit behind schedule on my Goodreads Reading Challenge lately, so I decided to pick up a short story to help me get back on track.

The only Gaiman novel I have read so far is Stardust (reviewed here), but it definitely left me eager to read more of his work.

It wasn’t actually until after reading this short story I realised that the main character is from another of Gaiman’s books, Neverwhere. As you can tell, I haven’t read this story, but according to the other reviews on Goodreads it is recommend that you read that one first (oops).

This story is difficult to properly summarise because it is exactly what the title says: the story of how the Marquis got his coat back.

Despite this book being set in a world completely unfamiliar to me having never read Neverwhere, I really enjoyed this short story. There were a few moments where I was a bit like, what’s going on, but that’s only natural considering I probably should have picked up Neverwhere first. However, reading and enjoying this novella has intrigued me and I am far more inclined now to go and read Neverwhere.

As it was in Stardust, Gaiman’s writing continues in his wonderful manner that no other writer can replicate. His words flow together so well and completely capture you, drawing you into this fantasy world full of interesting characters.

Overall, I really liked this novella and rate it 4/5. However, perhaps that will change when I eventually read Neverwhere as the novel may make me enjoy this short story even more.

Have you read either of these stories? What were your thoughts?

-driftinglexi

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

2 thoughts on “Review: How the Marquis Got His Coat Back by Neil Gaiman.

Leave a Reply

