Lipstick Love: Corals.

Come Spring and Summer I love wearing a coral lip, so I have reawakened my Lipstick Love series to share with you my favourite coral coloured lipsticks.

Lipstick Love is a feature on this blog in which I share with you all my love of lipstick by showing you my favourites. Technically, these aren’t all lipsticks, some may be lip glosses, for example, but they will all be lip products which I love. This was a fortnightly series back in January and February, so if you missed my previous posts they can all be found here.

Liptick Love corals 2.jpg

Tanya Burr Cosmetics Aphrodite:

Starting with the lightest shade of coral (which is tough since coral is naturally bright) is a Tanya Burr Cosmetics Lipgloss in Aphrodite. As you can see this product is a part of the older packaging, therefore it is possible that my swatch (at the end of this post) differs to how it looks after a tweak in formula and packaging.

Nevertheless, I love this lip product because it gives you a more sheer wash of coral. This is perfect for the summer if you have heavier eye makeup, or are simply not feeling the bolder shades of coral (which you will certainly see as you keep reading). It is a lipgloss, therefore it does give a lovely shine to the lips making it even more ideal for day wear. Out of all the corals in this post, this lipgloss is certainly a bit more on the orange side of coral; however I love this about this lipgloss, especially considering Tanya has a lot of more pinky shades in her collection.

Elizabeth Arden Melon:

Next up, in case the packaging isn’t a dead giveaway, we have the most expensive coral of the lot. This is an Elizabeth Arden lipstick in the shade Melon. While this is certainly almost three times the price of some of these products, you have to admit that the packaging is the most gorgeous of them all.

The lipstick itself is slightly more a pinky shade of coral with a lovely shine deeming it a very appropriate everyday coral shade. Unfortunately, it doesn’t wear as well as the next lipsticks I’m about to show you, but the colour is unlike any other (I mean, if you sneakily scrolled down to see the swatches you will have seen that the bottom two lipsticks don’t look that much different as most coral lipsticks tend to have a matte finish.

Revlon Audacious:

Ah, my first Revlon lip product! I remember watching a Zoella video a long time ago and she spoke about the Revlon Colorburst Matte Balms. The shade I have here isn’t the one Zoe spoke about because it was a bit too orange for my liking, so instead I picked up the shade Audacious which is certainly a very bright, matte coral lip crayon. This product is definitely closer to the orange end of the coral spectrum and is the most orange out of all of these lipsticks, but I do still spot the pinky undertone clear with all corals.

If you’ve been reading my lipstick posts for a while you will know that I love deliciously scented lipsticks and this is one of them! These lip crayons smell of mint so when you apply them they just smell and feel so lovely and fresh; a perfect way to start the day if you’re feeling brave with this bold coral.

Rimmel 110:

What is a lipstick post without a little Rimmel? Here I have one of their Kate Moss Matte Lipsticks in the shade 110 (ugh, why don’t they have names yet?) and this is my most worn coral out of my entire lipstick collection, so obviously it is a favourite.

In my opinion this is the perfect coral. It’s the perfect combination of orange and pink and it’s lovely and vibrant. I love this in the summer as a day shade, or it can be dressed up for the evening. As with all Rimmel lipsticks, it also has a lovely scent and is rather long lasting.

Maybelline Craving Coral:

My most recent addition to my coral collection is Maybelline Color Sensational Matte Lipstick in Craving Coral.

I feel that this shade is very similar to 110, although there are slight differences. 110 is bright and with a more pink undertone, while Craving Coral is slightly more orange. A bigger difference though, is that this shade has a tendency to appear red sometimes, such as in this video I made recently there is a slight redness to the lipstick.

Alike to 110, Craving Coral is also very bright, matte and long lasting. Plus, neither of these lipsticks are that drying on the lips like you would expect from a matte.

As always I have swatched below all of these lipsticks in the order they have been mentioned:

Lipstick Love corals.jpg

There is one coral lipstick I have neglected to mention. This lipstick is MAC Fanfare. I wouldn’t necessarily classify it as a true coral, it is more a pink with a bit of a coral undertone, so I thought it was still worth a little shout out. Yesterday I posted my MAC Lipstick Collection with all my MAC lipsticks including Fanfare in case you are interested in seeing more.

Don’t forget that I do also have other posts which are a part of my Lipstick Love series including a focus on:

What is your favourite coral lipstick?

-driftinglexi

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

6 thoughts on “Lipstick Love: Corals.

  1. Chanelle says:

    So pretty! I love the look of Aphrodite and I love how bright the packaging for Audacious by Revlon looks 🙂 Tanya Burr has another coral-y gloss in her collection which I purchased last month. It’s called I Found Nemo and is stunning!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

