Review: Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs.

“No one can hurt you as badly as the people you love.” – Ransom Riggs.

Library of SoulsLibrary of Souls is the third and final book in Riggs’ Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children trilogy. The series follows the adventures of Jacob Portman and his encounters with peculiar children in their fight to save peculiardom. Riggs’ creative and unique world based on peculiarity combined with his unique and superb writing as well as haunting and pathos inducing, thought provoking photos makes the Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series utterly unforgettable and like nothing I have ever read before.

All I have done thus far is praise this book and in this review too I will continue to do so. However, if you haven’t yet I do also encourage you to read my other reviews on the two previous books in this series:

Library of Souls is consistent with the books that precede it; we follow the same characters we’ve grown to love and we’re still reading from Jacob’s perspective. I love reading from Jacob’s perspective because he is more relate-able to the reader and as I mentioned in my Hollow City review, sometimes he’ll say things which reference the twenty first century which means that only the reader can understand what he is saying. Furthermore, with each book Jacob has learnt more and more about the peculiar world, but like us he is by no means an expert, so it effectively brings the reader closer to the main character as we learn everything as he does.

Another similarity is Riggs’ continuous use of photos. As always they are a wonderful addition to the story, always matching the text. I love how the book is laid out so in most cases you read Riggs’ description then have to turn the page to see the photo. This means that you can try and imagine what people and places look like first, enabling you to still envision it for yourself. I also found that in many cases Riggs’ writing was so spot on that what I saw in my head didn’t vary too much from the photograph.

In my review of the first novel I noted that the plot twists didn’t really shock me except for one (spoiler: I predicted that Golan was a wight, but I didn’t expect him to also have been present elsewhere in Jacob’s life). I found that this happened too with Library of Souls. None of the plot twists really shocked me, although I was a bit surprised by Bentham’s final act.

We meet many more new characters in this instalment and I absolutely love Sharon and his cousins. I also loved hearing more about peculiar history and seeing new places. When entering a book series with a well-written fantasy world I can’t help but be sucked in and scrabble for any and all details on this world that I can find; I want to know everything. I definitely found throughout this book that I developed a better understanding of how the world works and all the wights and hollows as well as Jacob’s gift which I really enjoyed.

The ending I felt was a little drawn out, but I also feel that it was important to conclude it this way. It was a lovely ending and everything was rounded off nicely; all the mysteries were solved (expect maybe one, I mean, we can be hopeful, right?) and any uncertainties were explained.

Overall, I really enjoyed this whole series and cannot recommend it enough. 5/5 for this final novel and to the series as a whole.

Have you read Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series? I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below!

-driftinglexi

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

 

3 thoughts on “Review: Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs.

Leave a Reply

