May Book Haul.

IMG_1012.JPG

You may recall me saying that I was going on a book buying ban for the month of May… Clearly, that hasn’t worked out. In my defence I actually only paid for one of these book myself and that’s because it was the third book in the series and therefore I coudn’t go on without it. The rest on the other hand were either bought for me or paid for using a gift card, so that isn’t too bad. Then again, the reason for my book buying ban wasn’t so I could save money, but to clear my TBR a bit… Oops.

This month I have definitely bought more fantasy books (five), and I also have one thriller and one contemporary. I have definitely found that I have been loving and more drawn to fantasy books lately. However I do still have plenty of other genres on my TBR as I like to switch up genres quite often so that I’m not reading loads of fantasy in a row because I tend to need a little more time to get fantasy worlds out of my head in comparison to books set in the real world.

Anyway, let’s get onto the book haul before I ramble on even more, shall we?

black eyed susansBlack Eyed Susans by Julia Heaberlin:

The first book I picked up is one that had caught my attention last month. Black Eyed Susans is a thriller and it intrigued me first because the cover reminded me of an early episode of the TV show Castle, in fact it might even be the pilot, and I love Castle so I had to see what it was about and by the way, it’s nothing like that episode of Castle (synopsis from Goodreads):

Left with three other girls in a grave shrouded by black-eyed Susans, Tessa alone survived, her testimony helping to put a killer behind bars.

Now, sixteen years later, he is about to be executed. But Tessa feels no relief.

Because someone is planting black-eyed Susans outside her window. Someone is sending her daughter sinister messages. And there’s a lawyer telling her the man about to be put to death is innocent.

Which can mean only one thing: the wrong man has been sentenced, the real killer is still out there and Tessa might not be the last Black-Eyed Susan…

the queen of the tearlingThe Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen:

I’ve included the cover on the left rather than the one I bought because I personally prefer it and think it’s prettier.

While I haven’t seen this book on booktube or elsewhere on the internet for some time now, there was a point where I was hearing about it absolutely everywhere. As a result it’s one fantasy book I have been itching to get a hold of.

The description on Goodreads of this book is very long, so I decided to only share a snippet of it here, but if it interests you I have linked the Goodreads page here so that you can read more:

An untested young princess must claim her throne, learn to become a queen, and combat a malevolent sorceress in an epic battle between light and darkness.

Young Kelsea Raleigh was raised in hiding after the death of her mother, Queen Elyssa, far from the intrigues of the royal Keep and in the care of two devoted servants who pledged their lives to protect her. Growing up in a cottage deep in the woods, Kelsea knows little of her kingdom’s haunted past . . . or that its fate will soon rest in her hands.

UprootedUprooted by Naomi Novik:

I am not going to lie, I picked up this book because I was attracted to the cover. This is another fantasy book with a fairytale look about it; I mean the tower, the forest, the rose, it all has a very Sleeping Beauty look about it.

Overview from Goodreads:

Agnieszka loves her valley home, her quiet village, the forests and the bright shining river. But the corrupted Wood stands on the border, full of malevolent power, and its shadow lies over her life. Her people rely on the cold, driven wizard known only as the Dragon to keep its powers at bay. But he demands a terrible price for his help: one young woman handed over to serve him for ten years, a fate almost as terrible as falling to the Wood. 

Finding AudreyFinding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella:

If the front cover isn’t any indication, this book is very different to the others I have bought this month. For starters, it is the only book from the Young Adult section, it is a contemporary and it deals with mental health.

This is another book which I’ve seen a lot of talk about on the internet and have been eager to read. As a matter of fact, I think I might take it on holiday with me.

Goodreads synopsis:

Audrey can’t leave the house. she can’t even take off her dark glasses inside the house.

Then her brother’s friend Linus stumbles into her life. With his friendly, orange-slice smile and his funny notes, he starts to entice Audrey out again – well, Starbucks is a start. And with Linus at her side, Audrey feels like she can do the things she’d thought were too scary. Suddenly, finding her way back to the real world seems achievable.

the looking glass houseThe Looking Glass House by Vanessa Tait:

Similar to Uprooted, the cover is what made me buy this book. In contrast, however, upon reflection I’m not even sure I will enjoy this book.

What I love about this book is the style of the cover. I love the use of black, white and red, I love the whole design and how it resembles the cover of The Night Circus, one of my favourite books. Furthermore, it’s a book inspired by Alice in Wonderland and is set before those events, so with the movie coming out and my upcoming trip to Disney, I really couldn’t help myself.

However, the Goodreads blurb doesn’t actually intrigue me very much… Read it yourselves:

As Mary Prickett takes up her post as governess to the daughters of the Dean of Christ Church, she is thrust into a strange new world. Mary is poor and plain and desperate for change but the little girls in her care see and understand far more than their naive new teacher. And there is another problem: Mary does not like children, especially the precocious Alice Liddell. When Mary meets Charles Dodgson, the Christ Church mathematics tutor, at a party at the Deanery, she wonders if he may be the person to transform her life. Flattered by his attentions, Mary begins to believe that she could be more than just an overlooked, dowdy governess. One sunny day, as Mary chaperones the Liddells on a punting trip, Mr. Dodgson tells the story of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. But Mary is determined to become Mr Dodgson’s muse—and will turn all the lives around her topsy-turvy in pursuit of her obsession.

Hollow CityHollow City by Ransom Riggs:

Hollow City is the sequel to Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (which you can read about here). The story picks up exactly where the first book ends and in my opinion it is better than the first book. In fact, this book made it into my May Favourites this month!

As you can tell, I have already read this book. I am not going to give a proper description of it though because you are much better off picking up Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children first. If you have read the first book, I definitely recommend the second, and if you have read both please check out my review for Hollow City here.

Library of SoulsLibrary of Souls by Ransom Riggs:

That’s right, this is the third book in the Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series. Obviously, after enjoying Hollow City I had to pick this one up next. Unfortunately, I haven’t read it yet and as a result do not have a review up, but I will be reading it after writing this post which means that I will hopefully be able to get a review up on it tomorrow.

Also, this book is a hardcover, so I have included two photos of the book because without the dust jacket it is still beautiful. It’s a gorgeous shade of green and in silver it has all the signatures from the main characters of the series:

IMG_1013.JPG

Those are all of my books from this month, I would love to hear below in the comments what books you have been buying this month? Also, have you read any of the ones included in this post? What were your thoughts?

-driftinglexi

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

11 thoughts on “May Book Haul.

  1. Ashleigh says:

    I love The Queen of the Tearling and Hollow City (I’ve not yet read Library of Souls)! I hope you really enjoy them 😀 I got Uprooted recently too, I hope to read it this Summer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • driftinglexi says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed them! Thank you, I look forward to reading The Queen of the Tearling. I hope you get round to Library of Souls soon and enjoy it too, I’m reading it at the moment and am enjoying it so far. Yes I hope to read it soon too!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Becky says:

    I’m a huge bookworm so this post was very exciting for me to read! I absolutely love thrillers, it’s become one of my favourite genres! So Black Eyed Susans is definitely on my wish list, it sounds so interesting!!
    Becky Shannon xx – Life-by-Becky

    Liked by 1 person

    • driftinglexi says:

      Awesome! So do I, they’re just so gripping and exciting to read! I’m glad you’ve found a new book you want to read, I hope you enjoy it when you get around to reading it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

