Review: Hollow City by Ransom Riggs.

Hollow City“Laughing doesn’t make bad things worse any more than crying makes them better. It doesn’t mean you don’t care, or that you’ve forgotten. It just means that you’re human.” – Ransom Riggs.

Hollow City is the sequel to Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children which I reviewed last week and have linked to. After thoroughly enjoying the first book I had to continue with the series and Hollow City picks up right where the previous book left off. To avoid possible spoilers for those who have not read the first book I am not going to give a proper overview of this book, but you can head on over to the Goodreads page and read it here.

It is always a little scary going into a sequel because you never expect it to be better than the first book in a series. However, Hollow City really impressed me and in some ways I actually enjoyed it more than Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children.

Similar to the first book, the format of Hollow City is the same and once again I must applaud Riggs for his excellent use of photographs. They’re placed well throughout the book and as I said before, I really feel like they aid the story. Riggs’ own descriptions are really effective and accurate when compared to the photo, but these photos really add to the peculiar-ness of this book.

Even in passages with no linked photographs, Riggs’ writing flows so well and the descriptions are wonderfully written, creating clear images in your head.

And eventually the dark peeled back layer by layer, and with imperceptible gradations the sky feathered to a delicate pale blue.

At the very beginning of this book, before we start the actual story, I love Riggs’ addition of character pages. I remember in the first book getting Horace and Hugh mixed up every now and then, so I definitely imagine that if I had been forced to wait ages for the next book to be released, then these pages would be really useful in reminding me of the characters. I also love it because it’s not something you commonly see in books, so it’s a lovely extra touch.

In this book we continue the journey with these characters we grew to love in the first book and if anything I can feel myself becoming more and more attached with every turn of the page. This also terrifies me for what could possibly happen in the third book, Library of Souls. I love this group of peculiar children even more so than before and Enoch has certainly grown on me too.

“You may choose to live in a world of fantasy if you like, my dear, but I am a realist.”

I also feel that I enjoyed Jacob’s character more in this book, especially his humour. Every now and then he’ll make these modern day references which, of course, the other children don’t understand having spent decades living in 1940. However, we, the readers, do understand them which makes me really appreciate these references because it brings us closer to Jacob; it almost makes us feel like we’re sharing some kind of inside joke with him.

In addition to the old characters, we also meet some new characters. A lot of new characters in fact. I loved the gypsies and absolutely adore Addison! I mean, peculiar animals?! Amazing! And with photos to support it! It makes the book feel so much more real, even though we all know it is fiction.

One thing I didn’t like about the first book was that I felt it was lacking some action. Due to it being the first book in the series I can kind of excuse that because it had a lot of world building to do. Besides, Hollow City certainly makes up for any lack of action, so I really enjoyed the sense of adventure and running around this book brought us since the peculiars travel to and around London.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book, possibly more so than the first book. I rate this book 5/5 and definitely recommend this series as a whole for lovers at books aimed at young adults and fantasy.

If you haven’t yet, make sure you check out my review of the first book in this series.

Have you read Hollow City? What were your thoughts?

-driftinglexi

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

9 thoughts on “Review: Hollow City by Ransom Riggs.

Leave a Reply

