Review: Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton.

Rebel of the sands“Nobody makes smart decisions in the dark.” – Alwyn Hamilton.

Amani longs to leave the town she’s lived in her whole life, Dustwalk. It’s in the middle of the desert and she’s been forced to live with her Uncle’s family since the deaths of her parents. Amani wants to escape and see the world, so when a foreign man turns up and she’s given the opportunity to run, how can she stay?

Rebel of the Sands follows Amani’s adventure through the desert. An adventure full of danger and magic with a wonderful combination of the Wild West and Arabian Nights.

I don’t usually get drawn to deserts and such but the cover of this book was so gorgeous that I had to read more and the mention of magic was enough to keep me interested. I actually bought this book after failing to download it in time after requesting it on NetGalley, but oh well, at least I have a beautiful physical copy.

I liked this book, it really impressed me. I loved Amani’s character, she was interesting and bold and witty. I love her personality, even if it got her in spots of trouble at times. She was also very independent and strong which I admired about her. Later in the book we discover more about her which was really interesting to see and I didn’t see coming.

All of the other characters were also really well written about with their unique personalities, behaviours and in some circumstances abilities. I loved hearing about all of the different powers and how they worked; I always find things like that really intriguing.

Despite liking Jin’s character, I didn’t find him as interesting as Amani, I suppose because he was so secretive. The secret that eventually came out did surprise me, so the book definitely had a good lot of twists to it. However, one thing I didn’t like about the characters was the relationship between Amani and Jin. It was very clear that they would become love interests, the obviousness doesn’t usually both me, but the relationship felt a bit forced.

I really enjoyed all of the stories within the book. Amani’s grown up hearing lots of stories about djinn which I loved hearing about, especially when the stories made a real link to the plot of the book. As well as loving the tales I loved the magical creatures, even if they weren’t exactly the friendliest. However, I wish I knew more about them and the world and how all the magical parts worked.

As a whole, I found this to be a rather enjoyable read and really enjoyed the action at the end. I felt that more detail was needed in some places with the world building and with Amani and Jin’s relationship since the book does take place over a long period of time and obviously we only see a small fraction of that. As a result, I rate this 3/5.

Have you read Rebel of the Sands? What were your thoughts?

-driftinglexi

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

3 thoughts on “Review: Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton.

Leave a Reply

