Review: Queen Song by Victoria Aveyard.

“There is nothing so terrible as a story untold.” – Victoria Aveyard.

queen songThe other day I bought Cruel Crown which consists of two short stories by Aveyard set in the Red Queen universe. Due to the two stories being very different I decided to write up two separate reviews, rather than squashing them both together. These stories take place before the events of Red Queen although it makes sense to read Red Queen and even Glass Sword first. I read both of these quite recently and have reviews for the first book here and second book here.

The first of these stories is Queen Song which focuses on Cal’s mother, Queen Coriane and it basically tells the story of her life before becoming queen up until and shortly after the birth of Cal.

Of course, this is only a short story, so this won’t be one of my more lengthy reviews, but I hope you enjoy it nonetheless.

I really liked this story featuring Coriane. I enjoyed getting to know more about Cal’s mother and seeing her relationship develop with his father as well as her relationships with Julian and Sara and even her interactions with Elara and other Silvers.In the main series I loved the character of Julian so I also greatly enjoyed seeing more of him and his relationship with Sara.

I was a bit startled at the dark ending, but it did make sense and I liked the way it was done (even if I didn’t like what actually happened). It also tied in well with what we know from Red Queen and Glass Sword, so while it is not essential to read this if you enjoyed Red Queen, it is a nice little addition to the series.

Similarly, this is definitely a more enjoyable read if you have read Red Queen and even Glass Sword first and I wouldn’t advise reading it until you’ve at least read Red Queen. This is because it’s nice to see a bit of background to some of the characters from the main novels and to see characters we wouldn’t ever have been able to see otherwise.

Overall, this is a lovely little read for lovers of Red Queen and I rate it 4/5.

Have you read Queen Song? How did you find it?

-driftinglexi

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

3 thoughts on “Review: Queen Song by Victoria Aveyard.

Leave a Reply

