April Book Haul.

April Book Haul.jpg

Another month, another load of new books. This month I have bought:

  • Passenger by Alexandra Bracken.
  • The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness.
  • A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab.
  • Attachments by Rainbow Rowell.
  • Cruel Crown by Victoria Aveyard.

passengerPassenger by Alexandra Bracken:

Earlier this year there was a lot of hype revolving around this book. I’ve been in two minds as to whether or not I want to go for it, but this month I decided to take the plunge. Considering my current TBR pile, it will take a while for me to get round to it, but at least it’s now in my possession and ready to read when the time comes.

The synopsis on Goodreads is quite long, so I won’t include all of it in this post, but if it intrigues you, you can head over to the Goodreads page and read it all for yourself.

In one devastating night, violin prodigy Etta Spencer loses everything she knows and loves. Thrust into an unfamiliar world by a stranger with a dangerous agenda, Etta is certain of only one thing: she has traveled not just miles but years from home. And she’s inherited a legacy she knows nothing about from a family whose existence she’s never heard of. Until now.

the knife of never letting goThe Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness:

I have already read this book, in fact I have already read the whole Chaos Walking trilogy. I absolutely loved this series, but only own the last one since I borrowed the first two from the library. As a result, I want to complete the series on my bookshelves. Also, I would love to reread this series at some point, even though the books are huge, so owning them will make that more possible!

Our main character, Todd, lives in a town of men in which he is the only boy and they can all hear what each other are thinking. Todd flees the town with his dog and whilst trying to escape the men, he stumbles across a girl whose existence is very peculiar when all females are supposed to be dead.

A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab:

a darker shade of magicI have heard so much about this series recently that I just had to pick this up. Personally, I do prefer the US version of this cover, but if I enjoy this book I won’t mind ordering another copy of it online and I do still like this cover, just not as much.

Again, the Goodreads synopsis of this book is a bit lengthy, so I have only selected one part of it to share with you all in this post:

Grey London is dirty, boring, lacks magic, ruled by mad King George. Red London is where life and magic are revered, and the Maresh Dynasty presides over a flourishing empire. White London is ruled by whoever has murdered their way to the throne. People fight to control magic, and the magic fights back, draining the city to its very bones. Once there was Black London – but no one speaks of that now.

attachmentsAttachments by Rainbow Rowell:

If you all aren’t aware by now that I love Rainbow Rowell then you’re clearly not paying enough attention as every single book of hers has now officially been mentioned on this blog whether it be in a book review, book haul, or book tag. Since reading and loving Fangirl and Eleanor and Park (to which I have linked my reviews) Rowell has become an auto-buy author for me, so I now own all of her novels (and a novella).

Overview from Goodreads:

It’s 1999 and the internet is still a novelty. At a newspaper office, two colleagues, Beth and Jennifer, e-mail back and forth, discussing their lives in hilarious details, from love troubles to family dramas. And Lincoln, a shy IT guy responsible for monitoring e-mails, spends his hours reading every exchange.

At first their e-mails offer a welcome diversion, but the more he reads, the more he finds himself falling for one of them. By the time Lincoln realises just how head-over-heels he is, it’s too late to introduce himself.

After a series of close encounters, Lincoln eventually decides he must follow his heart… and find out if there is such a thing as love before first sight.

Cruel Crown by Victoria Aveyard:

cruel crownLast month I read Red Queen and Glass Sword (I have linked my reviews of them) and I really enjoyed them. The next book in the series isn’t due to be published until 2017, so in the mean time we have been given two short stories to read based on this world in the form of Cruel Crown.

Cruel Crown consists of two stories set before the events of Red QueenQueen Song (based around Cal’s mother, Queen Coriane) and Steel Scars (focusing on Farley).

Since there are two stories within this book I won’t provide further descriptions of them both as this post is already a little long, but I will direct you here, the Cruel Crown Goodreads page.

In total I have bought five books this month which takes my current, physical, TBR pile up to 31 books. I also have many digital copies of books still to read and as a result I have decided to put myself on a book buying ban until at least June 3rd. This is because after June 3rd I will have more time to read and it will also be after my birthday, so I’m sure I’ll want to buy myself some books to treat myself. However, this does mean that there will be no book haul next month.

What books have you been buying this month?

Have you read any of the ones I have mentioned? Did you enjoy them?

-driftinglexi

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

4 thoughts on “April Book Haul.

  1. minats says:

    Absolutely love this post! Now that finals are coming to an end, I’ve been looking at books to read over the summer. Will definitely be looking into Attachments! I too adore Rainbow Rowell x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

