LUSH: Cupcake Face Mask.

Cupcake Face Mask 2.jpg

“The purpose of a good education is to show you that there are three sides to a two-sided story.” – Stanley Fish.

Another face mask has been finished which means another LUSH review. This is my third of their fresh face masks now which means that I am able to compare it more to other face masks rather than going in blindly. In case you missed my previous face mask reviews I wrote about Oatifix here and Catastrophe Cosmetic here.

I selected Cupcake as my next face mask to try out due to it’s popularity on my twitter poll, the fact one of my best friends love it and it’s alluring chocolate scent.

Chocolate heaven for oily and teenage skin. Helps absorbs excess oil and calms breakouts. Cocoa butter, linseed and cocoa powder soften with balancing peppermint, spearmint and sandalwood oils.

From it’s description I wasn’t expecting this face mask to do much for me since I have dry skin rather than oily. However, from the first use I ended up absolutely loving it. Plus I loved the fact that after washing the face mask off my face smelt like chocolate afterwards; as weird as it sounds, I wished I could smell my own face!

While the mask is aimed at those with oily skin I feel that it is important to note that it is says it absorbs excess oil. I was worried this face mask might not help my dry skin, but in fact I think it did. My skin felt so lovely and soft afterwards and as I continued to use a moisturiser as I always would I never had any problems with dryness.

You don’t really notice the minty scents of peppermint and spearmint until you’re washing it off. I really liked this as it made me feel like my face was becoming fresh and clean, which I believe it was. As a result, it helped make my skin feel wonderful afterwards. The mint didn’t really linger either, but the smell of chocolate did, as I mentioned before and I have no complaints on that.

When I bought this face mask I hadn’t actually read the whole description before using it, I just dived right in and started painting my face in it’s chocolately goodness. After using it the first time I noticed it had helped with my breakouts which really surprised me, though I then noticed on the pot that it’s supposed to help with them…oops. However, my point is that it did actually calm my breakouts.

Overall, I was extremely pleased with this face mask. People had raved about Catastrophe Cosmetic and I had ended up disappointed, so since this was a fairly popular face mask too I didn’t have the highest hopes, plus it didn’t appear to match my skin type. As a result I am surprised that I like it so much, but so glad that I do and it is definitely one I will repurchase in the future.

To briefly compare it to the previous face masks I have used I think Cupcake is a great in between. It made my skin feel wonderful and soft like Oatifix (though it wasn’t as nourishing) and it dealt well with breakouts like Catastrophe Cosmetic (although I would argue that Cupcake was more effective).

Have you tried Cupcake? How did you get on with it?

What is your favourite LUSH face mask?

-driftinglexi

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

 

19 thoughts on “LUSH: Cupcake Face Mask.

  1. becky says:

    I love this face mask, I agree it smells absolutely incredible, and I too wished I could smell my face haha. It made my skin feel so soft and smooth, and deffo did its job. I’ve also tried out Oatfix which is lovely, and again smells great! A mask I didn’t get on with is the Rose one!
    Becky Shannon xx – Life-by-Becky

    Liked by 1 person

  2. tumbling into wonderland says:

    I’ve just bought this one and rosy cheeks. I mainly got this one because of that gorgeous smell but I’m very glad that you said it works! I can’t wait to try it out 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

