Five Books You Must Read | Collab.

Five Books You Must Read.jpg

“It is with the reading of books the same as with looking at pictures; one must, without doubt, without hesitations, with assurance, admire what is beautiful.” – Vincent van Gogh.

I know normal protocol for a Monday is a book review, but we’re switching things up a little this week. Here on driftinglexi it is Collab Week which means that each week day there will be a new post in which I will have worked with a different blogger. This means that this week I will be introducing you to five amazing bloggers to discuss some of my favourite topics: books, beauty and nails.

The reason I decided to do a week of collaborations is because this coming Wednesday marks my blog’s first birthday. Well, technically my blog is older, but I relaunched my blog April 6th 2015 and to read the post I created that very day you can click here. To celebrate running my blog for a whole year I thought that it would be the perfect opportunity to interact more with some of the wonderful bloggers I have met during that time whether this be through here on WordPress, or over on Twitter.

Since my relaunch I have always remained true to my books which is why a book related post is the best way to start off this Collab Week! So, now that long introduction is over, today I am collaborating with Laura from In Laura’s Head and we are discussing books we think everyone needs to read. We have each created our own posts on this topic, so definitely do check out Laura’s to see what books she recommends and to check out her blog in general.

* These books are in no particular order.

A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket:

The Bad BeginningWhen discussing books one must read Harry Potter is an obvious choice, but most of you looking for ideas of what to read next have likely read it, so I’ve decided to go with a different series from my childhood to start things off.

Despite being a long book series (thirteen books!) A Series of Unfortunate Events is a thoroughly enjoyable series full of mysteries and snippets of knowledge and most definitely adventure. I absolutely loved these books when I was younger and it’s one of the first book series I really remember reading growing up. I actually reread all the books a few years ago and I still continue to love them and definitely recommend them.

The series follow three siblings Violet, Klaus and Sunny. When their parents die in a fire they are moved around  a lot in search for suitable guardians and in order to escape the evil Count Olaf who wants the fortune the children will inherit for himself. Count Olaf follows them from new home to new home, desperately after their money; however, time and time again his plans are thwarted by the three children. This description doesn’t really do the books justice, but it’s hard to summarise thirteen books in one paragraph!

Gone GirlGone Girl by Gillian Flynn:

We’re now going off to completely the other end of the spectrum with a dark thriller which is really not appropriate for children. Gone Girl is the book that really got me into psychological thrillers and the mysteries and crime genres and so it stands out to me, plus who can forget a character like Amazing Amy?

As the title suggests, Gone Girl is the story of a girl, Amy, who goes missing. Where? How? Why? There are so many questions and everyone blames her husband, Nick, who looks more and more guilty as the book goes on. Is Nick responsible for Amy’s disappearance? There’s only one way to find out…

The Iliad by Homer:

The IliadLots of bookworms are always interested in reading more classics, so for those with an interest in the Greek Gods and fans of Percy Jackson, I definitely suggest The Iliad.

The Iliad is an epic tale set near the end of The Trojan War. It may be difficult to get into at first, but once you get into the writing and the characters it becomes really enjoyable. I’ve read it multiple times as a part of a course at college and I actually enjoyed reading it every time, even if some of the names are a struggle to pronounce.

One thing to bear in mind when purchasing this book though is that there are many different translations by different people because since the story wasn’t originally written in English. As a result it is advisable that you read the first page or so of a few to see whose writing you prefer. My copy was translated by Rieu, but I always remember my teacher saying she preferred the Lattimore translation.

the night circusThe Night Circus by Erin Morgernstern:

For this post I have tried to select books I don’t have reviews up for because it means that you’re less likely to have seen them before on my blog. However, I have to make an exception for The Night Circus because I enjoyed it so much and it was probably my favourite book out of all those I read last year. You can read my review here.

Since I do have a review up I won’t go into much detail and you can read a proper overview of the book there, but The Night Circus is a magical book perfect for fans of fantasy. It is captivating and spectacular and I really adored the writing.

perksThe Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky:

Anyone who has seen any book tags I have done on this blog will realise how much I love this book. I have probably reread it as much as I have reread the Harry Potter books (although it’s hard to keep track).

However, despite it being mentioned numerous times in book tags, I don’t have a review on it, so you don’t have my complete thoughts (I hope to rectify that in the near future).

This is one of my all time favourite books. I think it is wonderfully written and I absolutely love the epistolary format. It is ideal for young adults and those into contemporary novels.

I hope you enjoyed reading about the five books I think you all must read. I’ve tried to cover a variety of genres because obviously, not everything is going to suit everyone, but hopefully there is something here that either appeals to you, or you have already read and loved.

Don’t forget to head on over to Laura’s blog and read her post for a further five books that you must read!

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below on these books and I’d love to hear what some books you think people must read are too.

-driftinglexi

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

11 thoughts on “Five Books You Must Read | Collab.

Leave a Reply

