March Book Haul.

March Book Haul.jpg

“One must always be careful of books,” said Tessa, “and what is inside them, for words have the power to change us.” – Cassandra Clare.

March was a popular month for new book releases, so I couldn’t resist buying a few of them… And a couple of extras. In fact, some of these I were so eager to own and read that I already have reviews up for them.

Glass SwordGlass Sword by Victoria Aveyard:

I technically bought this book at the end of last month (along with Carry On), but I had already written my February Book Haul and didn’t have time to add them in, so decided to carry them over into this month’s book haul.

Glass Sword is the sequel to Red Queen which I read last month and absolutely loved. As a result I instantly had to get my hands on this book. Since this is a sequel I will not tell you much about it as it can spoil the previous book for those who haven’t read it. However, if you are interested in the series, I have an overview at the beginning of my review of Red Queen.

Similar to Red Queen, I enjoyed this book a lot, so please click here to read my review of Glass Sword.

You can see in the photo at the top of this post that the first two books are clearly bigger than the rest of them. I find this so frustrating because it means Glass Sword is bigger than my copy of Red Queen, like that’s not going to look nice on my shelf. Why didn’t they publish it in the same size?!

Lady MidnightLady Midnight by Cassandra Clare:

It was so wonderful having a new Shadowhunter book to read. I’ve been waiting, I think, two years for this book to come out and I was so thrilled to finally go to the bookstore and pick it up. If you’ve seen my Instagram, you will also notice how the pages are coloured around the edge and it is so pretty.

Obviously, I have already read this book and there is a review up you can read here. Just let me tell you now, I absolutely loved it and really look forward to the sequel.

In Lady Midnight we follow a few new characters, although they are not entirely new as they have briefly had a small part in The Mortal Instruments. Five years after the events of The Mortal Instruments, Emma and Julian are parabatai and they’re trying to work out who is responsible for a series of murders around LA and how they are connected to the deaths of Emma’s parents.

Carry onCarry On by Rainbow Rowell:

Carry On was first published back in October, but I didn’t want it in hardback (it wouldn’t match my copy of Fangirl, haha), so I waited for it to be released as a paperback which finally happened near the end of February. Unfortunately, I haven’t yet read this book, but I am eager to do so.

Here is an overview from Goodreads:

Simon Snow just wants to relax and savor his last year at the Watford School of Magicks, but no one will let him. His girlfriend broke up with him, his best friend is a pest, and his mentor keeps trying to hide him away in the mountains where maybe he’ll be safe. Simon can’t even enjoy the fact that his roommate and longtime nemesis is missing, because he can’t stop worrying about the evil git. Plus there are ghosts. And vampires. And actual evil things trying to shut Simon down. When you’re the most powerful magician the world has ever known, you never get to relax and savor anything.

Carry On is a ghost story, a love story, a mystery and a melodrama. It has just as much kissing and talking as you’d expect from a Rainbow Rowell story — but far, far more monsters.


Kindred SpiritsKindred Spirits
by Rainbow Rowell:

Clearly, I am a sucker for anything Rainbow Rowell. In fact, I only have one novel left of hers to read and own now – Attachments – and the rest of her books are reviewed here. In fact, I’ve already read and reviewed this book. I mean, it is a short story, so it made sense to read it the evening I had bought it.

Elena loves Star Wars, so when a new movie is coming out she decides to join the queue to see it outside the local cinema. These queues are known to be lengthy – I mean, people don’t just queue for hours, they queue for days – but fun and exciting. As a result, Elena is very surprised when she joins the queue a few days before the release date and there are only three of them there. It may not be as she expects it, but Elena has her own kind of adventures despite the lack of people.

As I mentioned, I have already read this book and you can read my review on it here.

Rebel of the sandsRebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton:

This book is so pretty, I absolutely love the scheme. However, that’s probably not what you’re itching to hear about.

This is one of the few in this haul I haven’t yet read (but I can’t wait to read it either), so I will provide a synopsis from Goodreads:

She’s more gunpowder than girl—and the fate of the desert lies in her hands.

Mortals rule the desert nation of Miraji, but mystical beasts still roam the wild and barren wastes, and rumor has it that somewhere, djinni still practice their magic. But there’s nothing mystical or magical about Dustwalk, the dead-end town that Amani can’t wait to escape from.

Destined to wind up “wed or dead,” Amani’s counting on her sharpshooting skills to get her out of Dustwalk. When she meets Jin, a mysterious and devastatingly handsome foreigner, in a shooting contest, she figures he’s the perfect escape route. But in all her years spent dreaming of leaving home, she never imagined she’d gallop away on a mythical horse, fleeing the murderous Sultan’s army, with a fugitive who’s wanted for treason. And she’d never have predicted she’d fall in love with him…or that he’d help her unlock the powerful truth of who she really is.

 

stardustStardust by Neil Gaiman:

This isn’t a book I’ve read before, but I have seen the movie and absolutely loved it. In fact, I still love it and can’t resist watching it if I see it on TV.

Since I loved the movie I have wanted to read the book for an incredibly long time, but the time was never right. While it technically still isn’t right, I mean my bedside table has over twenty books on it that I have yet to read, at least I am now a step closer to reading it since I own it. The cover I bought is probably my favourite out of all the different ones too.

I don’t know how closely the book was followed when making the film, so I won’t give you my own overview and instead I’ll turn to Goodreads:

At the dawn of the Victorian era, life moves at a leisurely pace in the tiny town of Wall. Young Tristran Thorn has lost his heart to the beautiful Victoria Forester, but Victoria is as cold and distant as the star she and Tristran see fall from the sky one evening. For the prize of Victoria’s hand, Tristran vows to retrieve the star for his beloved. It is an oath that sends the lovelorn swain over the town’s ancient wall and into a world that is dangerous and strange beyond imagining…

Elizabeth is missingElizabeth is Missing by Emma Healey:

I’ve seen this book pop up a fair amount over the past year or so, but I cannot at all remember as to whether it’s been in a positive or negative light. Because I keep seeing it though and I thought it sounded intriguing, I decided to take the plunge and decide for myself.

The description on Goodreads is rather long, so I have only copied the first paragraph for you all, but I have linked back to it so you can read it all for yourselves if you would like to:

‘Elizabeth is missing.’ Maud keeps finding notes in her pockets with this message scrawled on it, but she can’t remember writing it. That said, she can’t remember much these days: the time of day, whether she’s eaten lunch, if her daughter’s come to visit, how much toast she’s eaten. Still, the notes about Elizabeth nag at her. When was the last time she spoke with her best friend? It feels like ages ago…

Seven books for March is not bad at all. Although it is arguably bad because I had bought them all before the second week of March was over…

Have you read any of these books? What were your thoughts? Let me know in the comments below!

-driftinglexi

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

11 thoughts on “March Book Haul.

  1. tumbling into wonderland says:

    I own a fair few of these books but still haven’t gotten around to reading any of them! Love to know what you think about Lady Midnight and Rebel of the Sands 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • driftinglexi says:

      Haha, I always buy more than I can read! I have a review up for Lady Midnight, it’s linked in the post and it’s spoiler-free. I have yet to read Rebel of the Sands, but can’t wait to do so. As soon as I read it I’ll put up a review!

      Like

  2. Callum McLaughlin says:

    I really enjoyed Stardust, and though I wasn’t blown away by the mystery element in Elizabeth is Missing, I did think it was a fantastically realistic portrayal of dementia.

    Great haul by the way. Hope you enjoy them all 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ashleigh says:

    I’m waiting until Lady Midnight is released in a smaller edition otherwise it won’t match the rest of the shadowhunter books I have haha! Same with Glass Sword, but I haven’t read Red Queen yet so I should probably get round to that first. Great haul! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • driftinglexi says:

      Haha, I couldn’t wait! I’m just happy it isn’t hardback, so it still partly matches everything. Wait until the smaller edition of Glass Sword is out to read Red Queen otherwise it’ll be harder to resist buying the big edition 😉 . Thank you, lovely!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Becky says:

    Ahhh I want to read now haha, I’m a huge bookworm but uni has stopped me from reading! I recently read and reviewed Rebel of the sands… How pretty is the cover! I’ve added all the rest to a mental shopping list in my head, I hope I remember to pick them up as they all sound so intriguing! Xxx
    Becky Shannon xx – Life-by-Becky

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

