Review: Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell.

“If you broke Elena’s heart, Star Wars would spill out. This was a holy day for her — it was a cosmic event. This was her planets lining up. (Tatooine, Coruscant, Hoth.)” – Rainbow Rowell.

Kindred SpiritsI was completely surprised when I saw this book appear on my Goodreads feed, I had thought I would have been more aware of a new book by Rowell as everything I have read by her previously I have loved.

Despite my surprise, I was really happy that she was releasing this for World Book Day, a day I always greatly enjoyed when I was in primary school. While this is a short story rather than a novel, I was still pleased to pick it up, especially at only £1.

Kindred Spirits is about Elena who decides to queue outside her local cinema, ready for the first showing of the new Star Wars movie. Her experience of queueing doesn’t go as fun as she expects, but nevertheless Kindred Spirits proves to be an enjoyable and entertaining read.

After seeing that Star Wars was a part of this short story it made me unsure as to whether or not I was really interested in reading it; however, I didn’t want to miss out on this story by Rowell, so I bought it. In case it isn’t obvious, I’m not a Star Wars fan, the series has never really been of interest to me. As a result of this, I was pleasantly surprised that prior knowledge of Star Wars wasn’t really necessary for this read, but it might make you enjoy it more.

Kindred Spirits is a cute, short story which definitely left me with a smile on my face. Despite not being a Star Wars fan, I still enjoyed it very much and would certainly recommend this to others, Star Wars fan or not. I’m really glad that I picked this up.

I really loved the characters Elena, Gabe and Troy. I also loved Elena’s protective mum! They were all interesting with their own opinions and stories, even if they mostly revolved around Star Wars I still enjoyed them.

I rate this book 5/5. Another amazing piece of writing produced by Rowell.

Have you read Kindred Spirits? What were your thoughts?

Have you read anything else by Rowell?

Let me know in the comments below!

If you enjoyed this review you may enjoy my other reviews on Rowell’s work.

-driftinglexi

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

3 thoughts on “Review: Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell.

Leave a Reply

