Review: Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare.

“You belong where you’re loved.” – Cassandra Clare.

Lady MidnightThe long awaited Lady Midnight finally hit the bookshelves on Tuesday. I finally picked it up on the Thursday and started reading Friday evening. On Sunday morning I was half way through and whizzed through the last three hundred plus pages that day. I was planning on reading it slowly since I knew I would have another wait ahead of me before the sequel, but clearly that didn’t happen.

Please note that this is a spoiler-free review (as all my reviews are unless otherwise stated). I felt this important to acknowledge considering that this is a new and much anticipated release.

Lady Midnight follows Emma and Julian, two characters we have previously met in the Shadowhunter novels. While it is probably not necessary to have read the previous books, it is highly recommended and you will have a much higher appreciation of some of the characters, I am sure. I have also heard people say that you should read The Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy first, although I did not.

Your heart is a weapon the size of your fist.

As always, Clare has created wonderful characters I have fallen in love with, many of which broke my heart at some point or another. Clearly, Clare is also fantastic at writing about forbidden love. In this novel, the love between Emma and Julian is forbidden because the are parabatai, meanwhile in previous books we’ve had the forbidden love of characters including Clary and Jace (at one point anyway) and even Magnus and Alec.

Whenever characters have plenty of siblings I get hit with a little panic at the beginning of the book as I worry that I’ll get them all confused and I’ll never remember them all. Clare has cleverly made each sibling unique with their own personalities and quirks which make them memorable and easily distinguishable from each other. I also love all the references to classics because I only studied the subject last year when I studied The Iliad and I’ve always been interested in it.

It was really interesting learning more about parabatai in this book. In Clare’s previous series there have also been parabatai (Jace and Alec from The Mortal Instruments and Will and Jem from The Infernal Devices). In these books, Clare had touched upon how romantic love between parabatai was forbidden, but we never had an understanding of why and it really bugged me not knowing. Reading Lady Midnight I had hoped we would find out and as the book went on, I started thinking Clare was going to leave us with this mystery for even longer, but eventually near the end it all started to make more sense. Obviously, I won’t spoil it, but I am so glad to finally know more.

While I am discussing characters, I was unbelievably thrilled at the appearances of all our old favourites throughout the novel. I also loved that some of them did also make multiple appearances. And at the end of the book there was a short story including The Mortal Instruments characters including some characters that hadn’t previously appeared in Lady Midight. The familiar faces made me so happy.

Everyone is more than one thing. We are more than single actions we undertake, whether they be good or evil.

It probably is not surprising to hear that I really enjoyed the story itself. As always we have wonderfully done twists and turns and we learn so much more about this fictional world Clare has created. I mean, we now know of the Shadow Market and we know so much more about Faeries and magic and, well, everything. It is all so creative and imaginative and splendidly done.

I haven’t read a book by Clare since The Bane Chronicles approximately a year ago now and it was so lovely coming back to this world with a new story and I am really intrigued to see how the rest of the series carries on. In the meantime, I really need to read The Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy. I have so many questions and I think some of them can be answered in Shadowhunter Academy because one of them is who’s George in the short story at the end?!

Overall, I rate this book a wonderful 5/5. I encourage you to read it, especially if you read the other books by Clare. As I said at the beginning, it isn’t essential, but I feel like you would enjoy it a lot more if you’ve read The Mortal Instruments series and The Infernal Devices series beforehand. I know that is a lot to read, but it is worth it.

What were your thoughts on Lady Midnight?

I would love to hear them in the comments below!

Please. I need people to discuss it with.

-driftinglexi

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

10 thoughts on “Review: Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare.

  1. Ericka G. says:

    I started on it and am hoping to finish it this week! I am happy to know that the old favorites will be making appearances – I love it when a series references other characters and you get a peak of “where they are now.”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. littlecityliterature says:

    Totally agree with all of the things you said in this review!! So happy to see all the old characters make reappearances with the new ones! Ugh, talk about the feels!! This book was so wonderful but had me a crying mess too. I just want the second installment already, it was so good!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

