Winter Empties.

Winter Empties.jpg

“If a cluttered desk is a sign of a cluttered mind, of what, then, is an empty desk a sign?” – Albert Einstein.

I always see the beginning of March as the beginning of Spring which means that it’s time for me to share my winter empties. I haven’t included December in my winter empties as it wasn’t until the start of the new year that I knew I wanted to make an empties post at some point and now it is time to do it!

However, this still leaves two whole months of products which seems a pretty good amount for a blog post. Although I am also guilty again of missing out a product in the group photo, idjit. Oh well, I suppose it creates a little mystery, haha.

Winter Empties 2016 part 1.jpg

Rimmel Match Perfection Foundation:

I used this foundation constantly last year after discovering it back in April, which means that this foundation lasted a good eight/nine months and I was wearing this almost every day. Of course, this is the old formula, so I don’t know where the new one stands in comparison (I have purchased it, but I have yet to try it out). Nevertheless, I really enjoyed using this foundation. It was thin, arguably a bit runny, but I prefer a thinner consistency. Also, the colour range is good as well as consistent with their other foundations which was really useful as the shade Ivory was perfect for me.

Rimmel Wake Me Up Concealer:

Similar to before, I found this concealer to be a perfect match for my skin. It is great for brightening the under eye area, although it is not the best coverage compared to other concealers. Due to it being a really good match for me, I found it really good at covering other imperfections on my skin, especially redness. I really like this concealer and will continue to buy it.

Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer:

Perhaps not as good as brightening as the previous concealer, unless you buy a shade lighter than you need. At least, I imagine that would work. However, the problem with that is that there isn’t an incredible shade range. On the other hand, it is cheap as well as being a really good concealer. It definitely has a higher coverage than the previous concealer, so I do prefer to use this one on my under eye area. It is also very good at covering blemishes and is a concealer I have purchased multiple times over the years and will continue to purchase.

Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder:

Honestly, this is the only powder I have ever used. I have never had a problem with it so I have never considered buying anything different, although it does mean that I have nothing to compare it to. I have bought two shades from this range in the past. The one I currently use is Silky Beige and I love it, it’s perfect for me. Meanwhile Translucent I found made me look rather pale. Nevertheless, I am happy with the shade I now use. It is effective at setting my foundation and concealer and mattifying it as the name suggests.

Revlon Lash Potion mascara.jpg

Revlon Last Potion Mascara:

Technically, this isn’t an empty, but I really dislike this mascara so I’m throwing it away and thought that I may as well put it with the rest of this stuff I’ll also, obviously, be throwing away. It wasn’t volumising, or lengthening and I found the brush to be too big for my liking. The only thing I ended up liking was the pretty packaging. It has been sat in my makeup bag since about June now, barely being used and I think it’s time to accept the fact that while it is a waste, I am never going to use it. I shall definitely not be repurchasing this product.

Winter Empties 2016 part two.jpg

Sally Hansen Double Duty Base and Top Coat:

A clear base and top coat are essential for any nail polish lover and Sally Hansen‘s are likely my favourite. I repurchase them time and time again. My only complaint is that after a few months it gets really thick to apply onto your nails and it can even be a struggle to get out of the bottle.

Maybelline Color Show Nail Polish in Cool Blue:

There was a time when I got a bit obsessed with this nail polish range. I loved the fact that there were so many shades and they were continuously coming out with new shades and new collections. However, I often found that the nail polish was easier to peel off in one go, which is nicer than it chipping, but it can happen really easily. I also found the lid really annoying when I wanted to paint my nails. Despite these flaws, if there was a shade I really liked I wouldn’t mind purchasing more of these nail polishes, but if possible I’d rather go to other brands.

Winter Empties 2016 part 3.jpg

No7 Beautiful Skin Face Wipes:

I haven’t used that many face wipes before, but these are probably my favourite. I often find when opening packets of face wipes that they’re not wet enough, especially the ones at the top and what’s the point of a wipe if you have to run it under the tap? As a result I was really pleased when I opened these and the first wipe was actually wet. Fortunately, when I was working in Boots over Christmas I bought myself multiple packets as I got them really cheap with my discount, so I have a couple of packets to keep me going a little while.

Nivea Daily Essentials Sensitive Day Cream:

After having problems with my skin last year, this was one of the few things that didn’t irritate my face and was also affordable. However, I did notice that it didn’t actually last me very long. It was very useful when I went to Rome last year, for travelling purposes, but it wasn’t the most effective at keeping my face moisturised. That combined with the dry winter air really left my skin suffering at the beginning of this year. As a result of this, if you have really dry skin like me this isn’t the most effective day cream, but it isn’t the worst either as it was moisturising, just not moisturising enough. I do want to try some more drugstore skincare products, so I might end up repurchasing this, but it won’t be for a while.

NSPA Cherry Body Butter:

I love this stuff. The cherry scent is gorgeous, as is the raspberry which I used last summer and also wrote a post on. I mentioned it then and I’ll say it again, it is really lovely on the skin. I haven’t had a chance to compare it to The Body Shop, but this is so much cheaper and still moisturising. Unless I’m really craving my favourite strawberry scent, I will definitely be turning to NSPA for fruity body butters from now on.

I mentioned that there was an empty I accidentally left out of the photo at the top of this post, so here it is:

OatifixLUSH Oatific Face Mask:

This was my first LUSH face mask and I absolutely love it. It is so moisturising for my dry skin and made it feel so lovely and soft.

I do want to try some more of the LUSH face masks so I can make comparisons, but I will definitely be coming back to buy another pot of this at some point.

To read my full review on this face mask I have a post here.

Eternity Moment Calvin Klein.jpg

Calvin Klein Eternity Moment:

It is very rare for me to post about fragrances because I have such little knowledge on them and a terrible nose for picking out particular scents. As a result of this, my description of this perfume is going to be taken off of Boots.

Eternity Moment, is for modern, young women. Eternity Moment expresses the wondrous feelings at the beginning of a relationship when the rest of the world seems to fall away. Its fine and fresh aroma is invited to capture the eternal moment of two souls meeting, gazing at each other, touching for the first time….
Fragrance Family: Fresh floral
Fragrance Style: Designer
Fragrance Note: Litchi, pomegranate blossom, lily, pink peony, guava, musk.

I am not the biggest perfume person. If I was I would probably repurchase this though because it does smell really nice. I think I’m put off from buying it again as I would rather spend my money on makeup and books and not because I didn’t like it.

That is everything I have used up this winter. What products have you been finishing off? Did you enjoy them?

Are you familiar with anything I’ve used above? I’d love to hear if you liked or didn’t like the product below!

-driftinglexi

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

3 thoughts on “Winter Empties.

Leave a Reply

