Nail Art Using Foil.

“Be a lady? Forget it. Ladies don’t last a day in the real word. No one’s a lady anymore. Why do you think we get our claws polished?” – Crystal Woods.

Nail art is so diverse and is much more than simply painting designs with a brush. I’ve spoken on this blog before about several different techniques which are commonly used including gradients, stamping and marbling. This post isn’t going to be a how to – I’m not good enough at the technique myself for that! – rather I’m going to show you two different ways of using nail foils.

Personally, I do not get on very well with foil, hence why I only have two designs here. Honestly, I think I’m just not patient enough for it and I don’t find it as fun to do as other techniques. However, you can get a variety of it. The foil I’ve used in the these designs is a white lace design which I like because it adds extra detail to your nails and it means you can have some colour show through the foil.

Silver and white lace.jpg

For my first design I simply covered the entire nail in the lace foil, over the top of a silver nail polish. As I mentioned before, I love the extra detail shown in the foil which really adds to the design, making it more interesting. This is something you can either repeat on all your nails, or you can do it on just one and keep the rest simple. Alternatively, you can even alternate the design on your nails!

Green and white lace tips

With this next design I used the same foil, but I only put it on the tips of my nails. The good thing about foil is that it only sticks where you have put the glue, so if you only want the foil in a small area, it won’t transfer onto the glue-less part of the nail.

As you can see in the above photo, not every nail went particularly well, but at the same time I was rather please with the result. I especially love the green nail polish underneath with was featured in my February Favourites. This is Orly Green With Envy and it is such a beautiful colour.

Sorry that I have fewer designs to share with you all this week, but I hope that you have enjoyed this post nonetheless. If you fancy taking a look at more of my nail art designs please pop over to my Nail Art Gallery, or have a read through my previous nail posts.

What have your experiences with nail foils been like?

-driftinglexi

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

8 thoughts on “Nail Art Using Foil.

Leave a Reply

