Review: This Raging Light by Estelle Laure.

“Just because the crack doesn’t show doesn’t mean it’s not there.” – Estelle Laure.

This Raging LightThis Raging Light is the story of Lucille. Her dad is gone, her mum is gone and it’s just her and her younger sister left. It isn’t long before Lucille is struggling to pay the bills whilst trying to maintain the secret that her mum has left.

I have rather mixed views on this book. I really liked Lucille’s character and it’s hard not to love her sister Wren; she’s adorable. The book was easy to read and I felt like I got through it rather quickly once I had time to sit down and read it. However, I also didn’t find it the most gripping story either.

Despite liking some characters, I didn’t like all, although I suppose that can be expected. On the other hand, Eden’s role as the best friend suggests that I was supposed to like her more than I actually did. I liked her at the beginning and near the end, but I don’t fully understand why she became so distant from Lucille in the middle. I know Lucille hurt her, but Digby was there too and he still came back. Also, I’m not very surprised about how Lucille had behaved considering everything that she’s going through, so I would have hoped that after a day or two things would have calmed down a bit.

I wasn’t very satisfied with the ending. I want to know what actually happened to their mum. I want to know what the future looks like for their dad. However, at the same time I’m glad that one mystery in the story was solved and obviously it was nice that Lucille and Digby ended up together and seem happy.

Since I mentioned Digby, let’s talk about him a little shall we? For the most part he is a likeable character. He is a sweet guy who tries his very best to help Lucille, even when Eden stops talking to her. On the other hand, I can’t help but dislike him too. The words he says often make me cringe and I also cannot help but be off-put by the fact he did cheat on his girlfriend. Understandable, right?

Overall, I think this is okay. I did expect to like it more, but I can’t help that I didn’t. I mean, the fact that I like it was a short book isn’t really a good thing, is it? As a result I rate this book 2/5.

Have you read this book? What were your thoughts?

-driftinglexi

I received a digital copy of this book via NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinions.

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

3 thoughts on “Review: This Raging Light by Estelle Laure.

Leave a Reply

