Lipstick Love: Reds.

“She oozes the kind of over-confidence that only comes to people who wear deep red lipstick and sparkly tissue sarees in bright daylight.” – Aditi Mathur Kumar.

Lipstick Love is a feature on this blog in which I share with you all my love of lipstick by showing you my favourites. Technically, these aren’t all lipsticks, some may be lip glosses, for example, but they will all be lip products which I love. This is the fourth instalment in this series, so if you missed my previous posts they can all be found here.

IMG_0470.JPG

As you can probably guess, in today’s instalment I am going through my favourite red lipsticks. Prior to this post I have also written about my favourite nudes, pinks and purples, so do have a read if you haven’t already. Unlike the previous posts, I have more products to show you than the usual five. I own eighteen red lipsticks altogether and narrowing it down proved extremely difficult, though I did manage to get it down to seven (seven’s the magic number, right? I’m assuming you’re all Harry Potter fans). So, with seven products to show you, let’s get into it! (Swatches will be at the end as usual.)

IMG_0471.JPG

I don’t feel that you can have a red lipstick post without featuring a MAC lipstick of some kind. In fact, I have two, but we’ll get to the second one later. I am starting with the darkest one which is a matte lipstick in the shade Diva.

This deep shade of red has definitely been a love of mine throughout winter and it would also be a perfect autumn shade too (although I didn’t own it back then). It has a slight purple tone to it, but it is very much a red and is also very similar to the shade Sin (although that one is a bit more purple if I remember correctly). This is one of my favourite reds because I love that it’s dark, it has a lovely vanilla scent – like all MAC lipsticks – and it lasts well on the lips.

IMG_0474.JPG

Next up is the Revlon Ultra HD Lipstick in Dahlia. I haven’t mentioned this lipstick since last summer, but I still love it. This is because to me this feels like a summery dark red shade, perfect for those summer nights out. I also love the formula and the smell of the lipstick (as you probably know by now, I seem to be quite scent-sensitive when it comes to lipstick).

Last year I was on the hunt for a dark red lipstick which wasn’t tool cool, or too warm toned – I didn’t want it to look too pink, not did I want it to appear too orange – and I also didn’t want something too berry-like. Then I came across this shade and it was just perfect; I think that this is one of those lipsticks which I will keep coming back to every summer.

IMG_0475.JPG

Back to a matte lipstick now, we have the NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Cruella. This product has been floating around a while and everyone seems to adore it, so I had to get my hands on it too. I am not the biggest fan of the formula myself, I’ve used better mattes, and I’m not too keen on the fact it’s a pencil you have to sharpen, but the colour kind of makes up for it. I feel that this is a shade of red that anyone could wear because it would just suit everyone.

IMG_0477.JPG

My first ever MAC lipstick was matte Russian Red. This is a very popular lipstick and if you haven’t tried it yet, why not?! Definitely one of my all time favourites, it’s just a classic, matte blue-toned red and it is simply gorgeous. It is such a brilliant colour that more often than not, people are able to tell which shade is Russian Red, just from a load of random swatches on your hand. My best friend and I can always identify whether the other is wearing Russian Red without even having to check.

IMG_0479.JPG

Going back towards the drugstore now is a red lipstick by Rimmel from their Kate Lasting Finish collection in the shade 01. This is probably my favourite Rimmel lipstick, right next to 107 (which despite being red, isn’t in this post because it’s in a different one). To compare it to Russian Red, it is a bit less blue-toned and is less intense, but it is still a very bright and pigmented shade of red without the matte finish.

IMG_0480.JPG

This is a lipstick I have been after for a very long time and finally treated myself to at the beginning of January. This is the Elizabeth Arden Beautiful Color Moisturizing Lipstick in 03 Scarlet.I know the classic red shade is Red Door Red, but it was a bit pink toned for me and felt too similar to another lipstick I have, so I went for this one. While Scarlet does have a pink undertone and is definitely the most pink of the bunch, it also has a lovely darkness to it and a gorgeous shine. Not only is the colour gorgeous but it feels moisturising as the name suggests and it still lasts well. I also love the imprint of the door on the bullet of the lipstick!

IMG_0482.JPG

The seventh and final lipstick I have to show you all is the L’Oreal Paris Color Riche Lipstick in Eva’s Pure Red. This lipstick is very warmed toned and has an orange undertone. While being a bright lipstick, it isn’t as bright as the others and it feels more appropriate for daytime wear. It also has a slightly matte finish which I love. I was pleasantly surprised by this lipstick too as it has a rather nice scent which I can’t really place and it has gorgeous packaging, especially for a drugstore lipstick!

Now that I have talked you through my seven favourite red lipsticks, let’s have a better look at them:

Reds swatches.jpg

T-B: MAC Diva, Revlon Dahlia, NARS Cruella, MAC Russian Red, Rimmel 01, Elizabeth Arden Scarlet, L’Oreal Eva’s Red.

I really hope you enjoyed this Lipstick Love series. I certainly had fun going through my lipstick collection and picking out my favourites, so do let me know of any other categories you’d like to see me focus on in the future.

Also, don’t forget to take a look at my previous posts in this series.

What are your favourite red lipsticks?

-driftinglexi

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

8 thoughts on “Lipstick Love: Reds.

  1. Becky says:

    I LOVE dark lips, red and purples are my go to colours. A couple of my faves are MAC Rebel and Ted Baker Red. I’m envious over the two MAC lipsticks in this post, they look absolutely stunning, I deffo need to add some more MAC lippys to my wishlist!! xxx
    Becky Shannon xx – Life-by-Becky

    Liked by 1 person

    • driftinglexi says:

      Yes, me too! I also have a post on my favourites purples if you’re interested! Haha, I love them so much. I only wear them for special occasions as I don’t want to waste then on a normal day, haha, they’re too pretty for that. There’s always room for another MAC lipstick!

      Like

    • driftinglexi says:

      Haha, I know right! Ooh you have to get it! If you only buy one MAC lipstick, it has to be Russian Red, I haven’t found any other red lipstick like it! It is! And the packaging is stunning on it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

