Harry Potter Book Night: A Night of Spells.

“I solemnly swear that I am up to no good.” – J.K. Rowling.

Harry Potter Book Night was a trending topic on Thursday night last week and although I had never heard of it before, I was eager to get involved whether it be a new thing, or a regular occurrence. The previous week, on one of my many ventures into Waterstones, my best friend and I were told about this upcoming book night. I rarely go to any events and had never been to one like this before so I was pleasantly surprised to see that my best friend was interested in going and we purchased tickets. Even better, after telling another one of my best friends about it, she wanted to go too!

Harry Potter book night.jpg

I’m not sure why, but my local Waterstones hosted their Harry Potter Book Night on the Thursday instead of the Friday, but that only made me more excited because it meant I could see what everybody else was getting up to for the occasion. I will be honest though, I was searching to see what had gone on at other Waterstones’ Harry Potter Book Night events as my anxiety temporarily got the better of me. Like I said, I rarely go to events and try new things, so I didn’t really know what to expect.

The event started at 5:30pm and of course, it kicked off with the sorting. It said on the ticket that people will be dressing up, so I decided to wear some of my Harry Potter merchandise including my Ravenclaw t-shirt and scarf. Have you guessed which house I was sorted into? I was ever so relieved because they didn’t sort us themselves, but asked what house we wanted to be in as my friends and I didn’t want to be separated, so they joined me in my house. I think that there were approximately sixty people attending this event, so it did take a little while to get through everyone.

Then the lessons began! We were divided into four groups of fifteen (thankfully, I still remained with my friends) and we were taken to different areas of the store for different lessons. My first lesson was Defence Against the Dark Arts. It was basically a wizarding duel, like the Duel Club scene in Chamber of Secrets. I duelled one of my best friends and the spell she hit me with was engorgio, causing me to swell up, and I got her with furnuculus, causing her to break out in boils.

Harry Potter IllustratedNext lesson was Herbology and we had different items in different pots which we had to smell and identify. This was probably one of my worst lessons as I am not the best with scents (although we already knew that from my Fragrance Favourites post, ha!). I think that the only thing I was able to actually identify myself was ginger, so that doesn’t really say much about my smelling ability.

The third lesson, I feel like it was History of Magic, but I don’t recall anybody saying. Either way, it was one of my favourites because we did a Harry Potter quiz. I love quizzes, especially if the theme is Harry Potter! I think I did well, but some of the questions were more difficult than expected. Can you remember which vault in Gringotts the Philosopher’s Stone was hidden in off the top of your head? Unfortunately, I never found out if I got it right, but if you do know then please let me know in the comments below!

I know I said I was bad at Herbology, but in the muggle world I am really not athletic at all, so Quidditch was definitely the thing I failed most at. However, this doesn’t exactly surprise me. I always knew that if I went to Hogwarts, Quidditch would likely be the least of my interests and I’d probably only attend matches if I had one of my best friends playing (although they aren’t particularly sporty either). For this game you had four balls (quaffles) to roll into hoops to score. There was even a snitch! And we had to do it on a broom, which means that there is a photo of me on a broomstick on my best friend’s phone which I hope never sees the light of day…

We then moved onto Care of Magical Creatures where the top half of our Waterstones store was home to sixteen magical creatures. The creatures were each dotted around the bookshelves, hidden amongst the books for us to find and note down. Also with them, they would have an extra letter and all the letters together were an anagram for a Harry Potter related word. I found this task quite enjoyable, plus it gave me an excuse to have a little peek at some of the books in store.

For Potions, our teacher was supposed to be a different employee who ended up being ill, so instead we had an employee who the others referred to as Charlie Weasley due to his red hair. Charlie Weasley and potions is not a mix I would have really anticipated, but he seemed to know what he was doing! For this task we had to make a potion by slotting ingredients together inside a cauldron like a puzzle. Looking back now, I really wish I had taken photos of everything, particularly Quidditch and Potions as these are the most difficult to explain! So apologies that this is quite a text heavy post.

The next lesson was Transfiguration. By the way, I haven’t even mentioned any of the costumes of people who dressed up. One woman was dressed as McGonagall! There was also a Bellatrix and a werewolf who I think was Fenrir Greyback since he was with Bellatrix, but my friend thought it was Lupin… I guess we’ll never know… Anyway, Transfiguration, for this lesson we did origami and basically transformed paper into frogs! I’ve made origami frogs before, although I couldn’t remember how, but I think I might remember this time!

The final lesson of the evening was Charms. For this lesson we had to match up spells with what they did. This was split into hard and easy, but I still managed to finish the hard one extremely quickly! If there’s one thing I’m proud of, it’s my Harry Potter knowledge and it’s nice to think that while I would never master Quidditch and Herbology, there might just be a place for me in Charms and Transfiguration, and possibly Defence Against the Dark Arts too, but I’m not sure who won our duel since we were both in the same house so either way the teacher gave points to Ravenclaw!

We didn’t hear of who won that night, the employees of Waterstones must have had lots of points to add up! However, I have just checked the store’s Facebook page and it turns out that they had announced on Sunday the winners…

4. Slytherin (628 points)

3. Hufflepuff (629 points)

2. Gryffindor (906 points)

  1. Ravenclaw (1012 points)

That’s right! We won the house cup! This may be sad, but finding that out just now has made me really happy, haha! We also won by over 100 points which is incredible. It’s nice to see that my terribleness at Quidditch didn’t let my house down.

Also, I almost forgot to add something my friends and I had found incredibly cool. One of the employees had made a Marauder’s Map with UV ink and made a wand with a UV light built in to read the map with! Remembering this was basically the deciding factor in which quote I was going to use at the top of this post!

Did you attend a Harry Potter Book Night? How was it? I’d love it hear about it!

I also have many other Harry Potter posts including a trip to the Studio Tour, book reviews and some Harry Potter inspired nails!

-driftinglexi

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

11 thoughts on “Harry Potter Book Night: A Night of Spells.

  1. Jani V says:

    This sounds like my kind of thing! I am a Harry Potter NERD and I would love if there were activities like this around my area. Anywho, I am glad you had such a nice time!

    XO
    -Jani

    mylifeinmedschoolblog.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Becky says:

    OMG this sounds absolutely amazing!! I’ve never heard of a HP book night before but honestly this would be amazing for all the potter heads out there!! I would be anxious about going too it doesn’t sound like my cup of tea even tho I love HP! I had the best time ever at the HP studios I had a little wand practice there too it was ace xxx
    Becky Shannon xx – Life-by-Becky

    Liked by 1 person

    • driftinglexi says:

      It was better than I expected! I never do group things and I was terrified that I’d be split up from my friends. After getting my ticket I did regret it a little bit and I almost faked illness to get out of it, but I’m now glad that I didn’t! Yes the studios are amazing! Awesome, I went there during a special Wand Week in 2014 and saw lots of that going on!

      Like

Leave a Reply

