Lipstick Love: Purples.

“Shaunee was digging in her purse like she’d misplaced a tube of one of MAC’s seasonal lipsticks that you buy and fall in love with AND THEN THEY DISCONTINUE IT BECAUSE THEY REALLY HATE US AND WANT US TO BE CRAZY.” – P.C. Cast.

Lipstick Love is a feature on this blog in which I share with you all my love of lipstick by showing you my favourites. Technically, these aren’t all lipsticks, some may be lip glosses, for example, but they will all be lip products which I love. This is the third instalment in this series, so if you missed the first two, please click here and here.

IMG_0321.JPG

In today’s instalment of the series I am going to be talking you through my favourite purple toned lipsticks so this will include lots of red and pink lipsticks with purple undertones and vice versa. As always there are five lip products here and there will be swatches of them all at the bottom of this post in the same order as they are pictured above and will be discussed below.

IMG_0373.JPG

My first favourite purple lipstick is the Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in Black Cherry. I found this lipstick in autumn last year and completely fell in love with it. It’s not the longest lasting, nor is it the nicest smelling, but the colour is gorgeous and feels lovely on the lips. I adore this lipstick far too much to let any other factors put me off of it, even if it means reapplying a couple of times throughout the day. This is also the most purple lipstick of the bunch without being too dark, although it does look darker in the tube.

IMG_0377.JPG

This next lipstick is not going to surprise any of you one bit and you probably guessed it easily from the photo above. Rimmel Kate Matte Lipstick in 107. This is the perfect matte red lipstick with a purple undertone which helps darken the red slightly, definitely making it everyone’s favourite for the autumn and winter months.

I write about this lipstick a lot, it’s even recently been featured in last week’s January Favourites post. This was the second lipstick I ever bought and despite now owning over fifty lipsticks, this still remains to be one of my favourites; the colour is beautiful, it lasts extraordinarily well on the lips and doesn’t dry them out.

IMG_0378.JPG

Similar to 107, we have Rimmel Kate Lasting Finish Lipstick in the shade 30. These lipsticks are rather close in colour, except 30 is a bit darker with more purple in it. Also, this one doesn’t have a matte finish like 107 does.

I always struggle to choose between these two lipsticks because I like the darker shade of this one, but the finish of 107. While these lipsticks are somewhat similar, they must be distinguishable on the lips because whenever I wear 30 I get complimented on it, but I don’t so much with 107 which is rather funny.

IMG_0379.JPG

The penultimate lipstick is one by Topshop in the shade Drive. This is my first and only Topshop lipstick and I must say that I was rather impressed with it, also, I absolutely love the packaging. It lasts really well throughout the day; however, I’m not keen on the smell (why is smell so important to me?). Rather than being dark, this lipstick is more bright with it’s very pink undertone and shiny finish which makes this lipstick seem ideal for all year round and is especially a great way to wear purple in the summer.

IMG_0382.JPG

Finally we have the NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Copenhagen. Fortunately, for us in the UK Boots have started stocking NYX products online, so obviously I had to try something and after having read lots of autumn and winter themed posts about lipstick, I saw this particular product popping up quite a bit. I was torn between this one and Transylvania, but I didn’t want to take the risk when I couldn’t swatch it and didn’t know if I liked the range of products itself.

I definitely don’t regret picking Copenhagen as it’s a lovely purple lipstick with a red undertone. You apply it to your lips and after a short amount of time the formula completely mattifies giving you a lovely finish. I especially love that this is a lip cream rather than a gloss as I have always found glosses too sticky which I found irritating.

Also, I feel that as I have been pointing out smell a lot throughout this post, I should mention that the scent of this product is gorgeous and sweet and vanilla-ry; I love it. In fact, my only complaint is that unfortunately, I haven’t had much success in getting the product to last well throughout the day, but I haven’t given up yet!

As I said at the beginning of this post, I do have swatches of all of these lip products here:

IMG_0324.JPG

What are your favourite purple, or purpled toned, lipsticks?

Have I mentioned any you particularly love?

I would love to hear about the lipsticks you love in the comments below!

Also, in case you missed it, here is the post on my favourite nude lipsticks and the post on my favourite pink lipsticks. Please follow to be updated on when the final (for now) instalment of my Lipstick Love series goes up in two weeks time, all of my links will be attached below.

-driftinglexi

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

14 thoughts on “Lipstick Love: Purples.

    • driftinglexi says:

      They are! Wore Black Cherry again today for the first time this year and fell in love with it again! They are, I’d like to get more but not sure which. Do you have any recommendations? Thank you so much! That isn’t even the whole collection, haha!

      Like

Leave a Reply

