Marble Inspired Nail Art.

Nail Art Wednesdays Marble Nails.jpg

“Man cannot remake himself without suffering, for he is both the marble and the sculptor” – Alexis Carrel.

After last week’s post on how to do water marble nails, I decided to create a separate post with some more marble designs. Some of these are definitely better than others, but hopefully you’ll enjoy seeing the variety of colours and techniques used in this post.

Water marble is probably the most familiar way of doing marble nail art as you see tutorials for it all over Instagram and YouTube, so I thought that this would be a good place to start. In the example from last week’s post I included one water marbled nail with the remaining nails painted using the same nail polishes used in the water marble on each nail. However, that isn’t the only way to do it.

IMG_0364

For this set of nails I similarly only water marbled one nail, but instead of making the rest of the nails different, I painted them the same colour, using a lighter shade of blue than the ones I used for the water marble.

After doing these nails I started to feel more creative which therefore led to me taking a risk by tying to do marble nails without the water. To do this I used a toothpick to move the nail polish around on my nail whilst it was still wet.

marble blue.jpg

As you can see, I also used this opportunity as a chance to do some experimenting. I put the nail polish on my nails in different ways and I moved the toothpick around my nail in different directions to create different patterns and this was the end result, making each of my nails different. Clearly some are better than the others; my mum’s favourite is the middle finger nail, what’s yours?

Using a toothpick on it’s own was much easier and neater than involving water in the process, so I also did this design with different colours:

marble black white grey.jpg

Here I used a black, white and grey nail polish to create a marble effect. I much prefer this design since, unlike the previous one, I did each nail as much the same as possible, so the pattern was consistent.

One problem I always have with creating marble nails is deciding on the colours to use. If you use very similar colours, they’ll just blend together and it can look too much like a gradient nail, but if the colours are too different you can end up making your nails a shocking variety of colours which clash. I think I’ve noticed that it’s best to have a pale shade, a dark or bright shade in the mix and if you’re using three colours you probably want all three. However, I am by no means an expert, I’m only making suggestions.

Which design is your favourite?

Have you done any marble nails before? What kind of colour combination do you think looks best?

-driftinglexi

Twitter | Instagram | Goodsreads | Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

5 thoughts on “Marble Inspired Nail Art.

Leave a Reply

