January Book Haul.

“I don’t believe in the kind of magic in my books. But I do believe something very magical can happen when you read a good book.” – J.K. Rowling.

I may not have bought any books last month, but I think I’ve made up for that this month with five new books! I don’t actually have any room on my TBR pile for them – I feel like it’s going to tip over – so until I get some more reading done I have no idea where to keep them. Oh well, once read they will have a lovely home on my book shelf amongst my other read books (I’ve recently resorted them a bit to make some more room).

IMG_0283.JPGNow, you’re obviously here because you’re curious to see what books I’ve been buying, so let’s get right into it. These are all of the books I’ve bought this month:

  • The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson.
  • Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli.
  • Disclaimer by Renee Knight.
  • The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson.
  • Cinder by Marissa Meyer.

the sky is everywhereThe Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson:

This book was recommended to me a long time ago, but as always there have always been other books to read and other books to buy. Last summer I ended up buying I’ll Give You the Sun by the same author, but due to having heard about this book first, I had my heart set on reading it first.

Obviously, I only just bought this book and therefore haven’t read it. This means that I cannot give you my own overview, but as I always do in my book hauls, I will give you the Goodreads synopsis:

Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to centre stage of her own life – and suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two boys. One boy takes Lennie out of her sorrow; the other comforts her in it. But the two can’t collide without Lennie’s world exploding…

simon vs the homo sapiens agendaSimon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli:

Since this book was published almost a year ago I have heard a lot of talk around this book, so when I came across it in Waterstones I decided that it was about time I formed my own opinion of this book. I have seen lots of positivity surrounding this book, so I hope I am going to feel the same way.

Here is the summary from Goodreads:

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

disclaimerDisclaimer by Renee Knight:

Those first few lines on the cover really drew me into this book and I’m already very excited to read it after a Waterstones employee told me he enjoyed it. I also like how this book is clearly different to all of the other books I bought this month as the rest of these books are clearly from the young adult section…

Goodreads overview:

Finding a mysterious novel at her bedside plunges documentary filmmaker Catherine Ravenscroft into a living nightmare. Though ostensibly fiction, The Perfect Stranger recreates in vivid, unmistakable detail the terrible day she became hostage to a dark secret, a secret that only one other person knew—and that person is dead.

Now that the past is catching up with her, Catherine’s world is falling apart. Her only hope is to confront what really happened on that awful day . . . even if the shocking truth might destroy her.

the art of being normalThe Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson:

I love the cover of this book and I was actually tempted to buy it a while ago, but wasn’t sure if I would enjoy it. Since then my cousin came out as transgender so I thought it would be interesting to read a book with a transgender lead, plus I have heard a lot of positive things about this book.

Synopsis taken from Goodreads:

Two boys. Two secrets.

David Piper has always been an outsider. His parents think he’s gay. The school bully thinks he’s a freak. Only his two best friends know the real truth – David wants to be a girl.

On the first day at his new school Leo Denton has one goal – to be invisible. Attracting the attention of the most beautiful girl in year eleven is definitely not part of that plan.

When Leo stands up for David in a fight, an unlikely friendship forms. But things are about to get messy. Because at Eden Park School secrets have a funny habit of not staying secret for long…

cinderCinder by Marissa Meyer:

That is right. I am one of those extremely few people who have not read any of The Lunar Chronicles, so when Winter was released at the end of last year I was completely lost and confused in this wave of excitement. This year I am going to rectify that, so I have bought the first book in the hope that I’ll be able to read it soon and be able to understand all the love that surrounds this series.

I feel like a book summary may not be necessary, but I will use this one from Goodreads anyway in order to keep things consistent:

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

Those are all of the books I bought throughout January. What books did you buy?

Have you read any of those in my haul, what were your thoughts on them?

Let me know in the comments below!

-driftinglexi

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

 

11 thoughts on “January Book Haul.

    • driftinglexi says:

      Haha I know right! Aw I’m glad! I always add the synopsis in my book hauls since 99% of the books I buy I haven’t read before and therefore I can’t give my own overview and I know that it can be too time consuming and you can forget about a book if you’re forced to go elsewhere to see what it’s about.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

