January Favourites.

“Everybody is special. Everybody. Everybody is a hero, a lover, a fool, a villain. Everybody. Everybody has their story to tell.” – Alan Moore.

I’m going to be honest, I had been putting off doing this post for a few days. I suppose it is because there are so many things I have been loving this month that I don’t know which to include and how to organise it. Nevertheless, the time has come to reveal my January Favourites…

IMG_0300.JPG

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff:

This month I have read nine books and Illuminae has definitely been my favourite. I would classify this as a sci-fi, ideal for young adults and found that it was wonderfully written and you read from a variety of perspectives, each of which I thoroughly enjoyed with memorable characters. I’m not going to go too much into a description of this book because I do have a review for it here where you can read all about it.

IMG_0294.JPG

Urban Decay Naked Smoky palette:

I am really not exaggerating when I say that I have used this palette everyday for a whole month. I love this palette so much; it has some gorgeous gold shades, grey shades, even a purple and some lovely mattes which I definitely get a lot of use out of daily. If you’re in need of a new palette and love a smoky eye, I definitely recommend the Naked Smoky palette.

IMG_0295.JPG

Lipsticks:

I usually aim to have a “lipstick of the month” in these posts, but this month I found it hard to narrow it down. Because of the aforementioned palette, I have been wearing darker shades of eyeshadow which I have paired with a nude lip. However, as you know by now, I love bright and bold lipsticks, so I haven’t been wearing a nude lipstick all month long.

IMG_0303.JPG

L-R: Rimmel 107 and 43, MAC Diva.

My first favourite lipstick is one you’ve all heard of, Rimmel’s 107, a gorgeous matte red with a purple undertone. I know that I’ve mentioned this in a favourites before, along with countless other bloggers, but I cannot rave about this lipstick enough. The colour is beautiful, the staying power is amazing it’s very affordable and doesn’t dry out my lips, despite being a matte.

Sticking with Rimmel, my second favourite is from the Kate nude collection and this is the shade 43. There are several shades in this collection, but this one is my favourite because it’s more brown-toned than pink, which I find suits me much better. It has very similar features as the previous lipstick, although the staying power isn’t brilliant, but because it’s a nude it doesn’t bother me that much because as the colour slowly fades, it isn’t that noticeable. In fact, I used this lipstick in a recent makeup tutorial which you can check out over on my YouTube channel here.

My final favourite lipstick for this month is by MAC and it is a matte lipstick in Diva, a beautiful dark shade of red with a purple undertone (similar to 107, but darker). I received this for Christmas and haven’t actually worn this as much as I’d like to have done this month, but I still absolutely adore it.

IMG_0290.JPG

No7 Dramatic Lift Mascara:

I mentioned earlier this month on Twitter that I had found a new mascara that I liked and here it is! I had never tried No7‘s mascaras before and I received a mini as a part of a free gift before Christmas and I was really impressed. I often end up using two mascaras because I like to get as much out of my older mascaras as possible before throwing it away. As a result of this, my first layer of mascara is my almost completely dried out Benefit Roller Lash followed by a layer of this No7 mascara which really does lift my lashes. My only complaint with it is that because it is a mini it makes it a little hard to apply, but when I am next out of mascara this is definitely one I would consider repurchasing.

IMG_0286.JPG

Nail polish:

I have really been loving certain shades of nail polish this month. If you read my Boots haul at the beginning of January you will have seen that I bought lots of nail polish, so it’s no wonder a couple of bottles have worked their way into a favourites post.

Lately, I have especially been a fan of pale nails. This means wearing a lot of greys, pale blues, pale pinks and white nail polishes. However, my favourite ones are both by Essie from my Boots haul. These are the shades Cocktail Bling and Fiji, a gorgeous grey and pale pink nail polish.

IMG_0292.JPG

As a matter of fact, these nail polishes have also been combined with another one which is Barry M‘s Matte Top Coat which really mattifies the nails, no matter what nail polish you’re using; it doesn’t have to be Barry M! This week I have been wearing it over the top of Fiji and it is so pretty, I’ve even had a few compliments on the colour.

That is everything for my favourites in the photo at the top of this post, but I do have one more. This last item was actually a last minute addition, so it didn’t get included in the group shot, but it will be familiar to those who read my Boots haul.

Soap and Glory Smoothie Star Breakfast Scrub:

From the first use, or even sniff really, I fell in love with this product. It smells delicious with it’s maple syrup scent and is amazing as a scrub, leaving my skin so lovely and soft and smooth; my skin has never felt better. I use this every few days and have found that it really makes a difference. You also get a lot in the tub so while I am a long way from requiring a new tub, when the time does come I will definitely be repurchasing this.

This has probably been my longest favourites to date (excluding my 2015 Favourites, of course), but I love every single thing I have mentioned in this post. Please let me know in the comments below if you’re familiar with anything I’ve mentioned and don’t forget to let me know your January Favourites too!

-driftinglexi

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

 

22 thoughts on “January Favourites.

    • driftinglexi says:

      107 is basically just a classic now, haha, I love it so much. I really like it, I’ve especially been loving matte everything lately, eyes, lips, nails! Haha! I know I can’t believe that before this month I’d never used it!

      Like

  1. Lifestylebites3 says:

    I love essie nail polishes and one of my all time favourite is grey nail candies and the shade looks so awesome and the other shade, baby pink also looks so gorgeous. While moving along to the mascara, the curved shaped bristles in the wand looks amazingly good and there is no doubt it lifts up and curls your lashes enormously good. All in all, I love your blog post and if you feel free, then check onto my blog https://lifestylebites3.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

