Books I Want To Reread.

“If one cannot enjoy reading a book over and over again, there is no use in reading it at all.” – Oscar Wilde. (I cannot remember if I have used this quote before or not – you’ll see throughout this post that I have a pretty terrible memory – but it seemed relevant for this post.)

I have always been a big lover of reading and this stems back to as far as I can possibly remember. As a result I have read a lot of books and have lots of books I would love to reread whether this be because I loved them so much, or because I cannot actually remember how I felt about the book.

Today I have compiled a list of the top ten books I would like to reread, preferably this year. Some of these you may of heard of, some of these you may not have, but if you have read any of them let me know in the comments below!

All of the books I will be mentioning are ones I do not have reviews of since I only started reviewing books a year ago. As a result of this, instead of linking to a review, I am attaching links of the book’s Goodreads page to the title of each book.

Forgotten by Cat Patrick.

forgottenI had completely forgotten this book until I noticed it when reorganising my books a while ago. I must have read this at least three years ago now and the only thing I remember about it is that it’s about girl who is basically unable to recall past events whenever she wakes up in the morning. This means that she cannot even remember what happened the previous day, everyday.

Whether or not I enjoyed this book, I cannot remember myself, hence why I have decided to give it a reread, after all it is sat on my shelf and if I don’t like it I may as well give it away.

The Iliad by Homer.

The IliadI read this book four times from August 2014 to June 2015 as I was reading it for college because a large part of one of my A-levels was based around this book. However, I never actually reviewed it.

I really enjoyed reading this book and look forward to reading it again at some point and being able to properly share my thoughts on it to all of you guys.

Also, once I’ve read this again I am going to read The Odyssey, also by Homer which I very much look forward to!

With The Iliad being a classic, it does have a great many covers. Also, I actually own two copies of this book, but I am including my clothbound classic cover for this because it’s just so lovely. If you’re wondering why I have two copies, it’s because my first copy I used especially for college and therefore it is a bit tatty and worn and covered in highlighter (but don’t worry, my second copy is spotless).

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky.

perksAnyone who has been following this blog for a while will be aware of the fact that I love The Perks of Being a Wallflower. However, despite this love for the book and having read it three times, I haven’t before written a review since all my reads of the book were prior to 2015. As a result of this, I am determined to get a review up for one of my most-loved books.

This is another book with a few covers. The one I have is actually my second favourite of them all, my favourite being the edition published in 2009 with the writing all over it, which I really hope to be able to get my hands on. As you can tell, I don’t mind have two copies of a book if it’s one I really love.

entangledEntangled by Cat Clarke.

Back to a book you are likely less familiar with we have Entangled. This is one I actually remember reading directly after Forgotten since I had received them both for Christmas, so it seems as though the books I read during that period are just a blur because I cannot recall much of this book either.

What I remember about this book is a white room, a girl basically being kept prisoner, something to do with a bus I think and possibly some guy who brought her food? I’m not entirely sure, hence the need to reread this book.

The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien.

The HobbitFirst up, I love this book cover so much.

In fact, we used to have this when I was younger and I have no idea what happened to it. I just remember it because who can forget that design? Perhaps we lost it in the move, I don’t know. Then I bought a new copy when I heard news of it being made into movies. After reading it I made the mistake of letting a friend borrow it; I never got it back (despite asking numerous times). Of course, this meant I didn’t have a copy of The Hobbit and I was no longer in contact with my friend, so my dad bought me this lovely replacement, actually the same as the first copy we ever owned.

When my dad bought my this it was with the intention of rereading this, but so many books kept piling up that I never got around to it, but hopefully this year I will! Also I’ve been trying to read The Silmarillion for a while now, but have been struggling, so I hope that reading The Hobbit first and getting used to the world and the writing again will make things easier.

Fracture by Megan Miranda.

fractureThis is the third and final book in this list that I had completely forgotten about until browsing through my books today. It’s also another one from that blurry period of reading back in 2013.

The only things I really remember about this book is a girl who almost drowns in an icy lake and this is basically reflected on the front cover…

I honestly don’t have high hopes for this reread, but at least if I don’t like it I’ll know for sure and can remove it from my shelves. Otherwise, there is a sequel that I can read if I enjoy it.

Paper Towns by John Green.

paper townsYes, John Green. I feel like I haven’t read anything by him for a long time and I kind of miss his writing, so I definitely plan to pick up one of his books this year.

The movie adaptation of this book was released last year and I enjoyed it, but I didn’t have the best memory of the book so I decided I’d like to read it again.

Also, I know that I did enjoy reading this book so I’ll be happy to read it again, but at the same time I remember it enough so that it won’t bother me too much if I don’t have time to reread it this year.

Gone GirlGone Girl by Gillian Flynn.

I loved this book so much, so similar with The Perks of Being a Wallflower and The Iliad, I want to have a review for it. If anyone ever wants a book recommendation, I always want to be able to provide my own review on it so that people can see why I liked it, even if they didn’t. This is why all of the books on my Book Recommendations page are only those I have written reviews for.

Plus, I have reviews for all of Flynn’s other work on this blog, so it would be satisfying to have them all here.

Divergent series by Veronica Roth.

DIVERGENT_B_Format_UK.inddWe’re now onto the last book of my Books I Want to Reread list and this is technically three books, but I’m squeezing them all together because they are apart of the same series.

The next movie of this series is going to be released in March and I’m pretty sure that I won’t be able to reread the series before then, but I’m also not confident that I’ll have the opportunity to see it in cinema either. However, I do remember this book so whether I read the books or see Allegiant first it doesn’t matter. Rereading it would just be a little bonus, I suppose.

That’s it for the books I want to reread this year. I also write about other bookish things here including a lot of book reviews, so please do check them out. For a list of all the books reviewed on this blog, that is here.

Are there any books you intend to reread this year? Let me know in the comments below!

-driftinglexi

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

14 thoughts on “Books I Want To Reread.

    • driftinglexi says:

      Haha, I’ve only read Divergent once, but I must have read Perks at least four times by now. Ah, though just because they’re on the list doesn’t necessarily mean that I liked them, at least three of them I can’t recall if I enjoyed them or not!

      Liked by 1 person

      • rosieeek says:

        I read Divergent and Insurgent a couple times before seeing the movies and still haven’t read the third book haha well it’s great that you’re revisiting books you’ve forgotten about! I do want to read Paper Towns and Gone Girl and it looks like you liked those 🙂

        Like

      • driftinglexi says:

        Oh really? Are you going to try and read it before seeing the next movie then? Yes and it be nice to have books on my shelf which I know I actually like, haha! I loved those books, especially Gone Girl!

        Like

Leave a Reply

