Review: Drew (Changers #1) by T. Cooper and Allison Glock-Cooper

“Changer: A member of an ancient race of humans imbued with the gift of changing into a different person four times between the ages of approximately fourteen and eighteen.” – T. Cooper and Allison Glock-Cooper.

changers drewFirst of all, I would just like to point out that the definition above is by no means a full definition of what a Changer is. I thought to provide it though in order to aid this review.

Second important note: this is an ARC I received through NetGalley which has recently been published with this lovely new cover and which is now available (I’ve even seen it for myself in my local Waterstones just last week).

Now, onto the review…

I have been unsure as to what to title this book since the book cover says Changers, but on Goodreads is says Drew (Changers #1), so I have gone with Goodreads, just because it has that extra detail. I think Changers simply refers to the series as a whole since it is all about this race of people (definition above) called Changers.

Up until their first year of high school, Changers are just like everybody else, until that first day of school when they wake up as a different person. The parents aren’t always certain if their child will be a changer or not and they have strict rules, so until it happens the child is in the dark about it all. When you change, everything changes and in some cases even your gender.

I haven’t done much research into this book before reading it, or into the series. However, after reading this book I am assuming that there will be at least an additional three books after this. When the child wakes up a different person you see, it doesn’t just happen once. They have to go through that whole year as a new person, then the start of the next year they’re transformed into someone else, so they change four times in total throughout high school. This first book focusses on the first year and therefore the first person our main character turns into, so I think we can assume that the next three books will contain the next three identities.

I feel like I am just giving you loads of information which you can read from the book, but it’s difficult to find an easier way to explain it, so I hope you’re following, haha. In fact, I found that the book was a bit guilty of this too, just bombarding us with handfuls of information at times and if our main character is struggling to comprehend everything going on, it doesn’t make it any easier for the reader. I like the idea behind this book, but I don’t understand exactly what is going on at the same time since we were given a load of information at once and I’m not sure I’m interested in turning back to reread those sections.

One thing I definitely enjoyed was the characters and how they were written, especially Drew. By the end of the book you can really see how she has developed over the school year and for the most part come to terms with what is happening, even if she doesn’t understand everything (for that I don’t blame her, neither do I!).

Part of me is really intrigued to see where this story goes, but at the same time I don’t feel fully interested, so I have very mixed feelings right now. Overall, I liked it and all the ideas, I just don’t feel like I have the best understanding of everything going on. If I come across the sequel I reckon I will pick it up and hopefully it will clear things up for me (and Drew, or whoever she turns into in the next book). I also really hope the birthday thing is cleared up, haha, do they keep their birthdays? Because it kind of felt a bit like “happy birthday! Now, here is your new identity“.

I rate this book 3/5.

Let me know in the comments below if you’ve read this book and what your thoughts on it were!

-driftinglexi

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

One thought on “Review: Drew (Changers #1) by T. Cooper and Allison Glock-Cooper

Leave a Reply

