Lipstick Love: Pinks.

“I believe it’s perfectly normal to love both lipstick and literature, to be a woman who paints her nails while shouting at Question Time.” – Sali Hughes.

Lipstick Love is a recent feature I have started on this blog in which I share with you all my love of lipstick by showing you my favourites. Technically, these aren’t all lipsticks, some may be lip glosses, for example, but they will all be lip products which I love. This is the second instalment in this series, so if you missed the first one, please click here.

I am not a big pink lipstick wearer, so narrowing it down to my favourites proved both difficult and easy. It was difficult because I rarely wear pink lipstick since I don’t feel that it is the most flattering shade on me. However, it was easy because if I do wear pink it is the same few shades I tend to stick to and rarely venture outside of.

IMG_0273.JPG

Unlike my previous Lipstick Love post, I have ordered these products in order of the lightest shade to the darkest as there is a variety in this selection. Also, there will be swatches at the bottom of this post in the same order I will be talking about these lipsticks. So, let’s get into it!

IMG_0275.JPG

As aforementioned, I am starting with the lightest shade of the bunch. This is also the oldest and most worn lip product of all of these (which you can probably tell) because it is such an ideal shade for during the day and it pairs well with dark eye makeup. This is the Revlon Colorburst Balm Stain in the shade Honey.

Not only is this an ideal colour for everyday, but I also feel that it is perfect for winter/spring because it is very light and cool-toned and it just feels right on those cold, but sunny mornings.

IMG_0276.JPG

Next we have another Revlon lip product (there is a lot of Revlon in this post which is strange as my lip posts are usually dominated by Rimmel). Here is their Ultra HD Lipstick in the shade Rose.

The Ultra HD Lipsticks were actually the focus of the first beauty review I ever did on this blog. Also, this review was written in the summer which we all know means better lighting and if I’m honest, the appearance of this lipstick in the swatch on that review looks more true to real life than the one at the bottom of this post (though rest assured, the four other shades are more accurate representations of what they actually look like).

This lipstick is still a very light colour and only a shade darker than the previous one. Similarly, it is very cool-toned and great for day wear; I’ve definitely been reaching for it a fair amount recently!

IMG_0277.JPG

Now it’s time to introduce a Rimmel lipstick – there had to be one, right? – and this is from the Kate Moss Lasting Finish collection in the shade 05.

I would describe this lipstick has having a slight coral undertone as it is brighter than it looks which is something I always forget when I reach for it. As a result I think that this is a lipstick most suitable for spring/summer due to it’s brightness and it being rather warm-toned. In fact, last year I included it in my Summer Lipstick Favourites so feel free to check out that post for a little more detail.

IMG_0279.JPG

Gradually, we are getting darker as you can tell with this next lipstick. This is from the No7 Stay Perfect range and it is called Loganberry.

I feel that this is a perfect all year round kind of shade because it’s got a slight darkness to it for the autumn/winter months, but a certain brightness to it for spring and summer. It isn’t a matte lipstick, but it doesn’t have the same glossiness as the other lipsticks in this post which just makes me love it more. In fact, I always forget about having this lipstick and definitely think I need to wear it more.

IMG_0281.JPG

We’re finally onto the darkest pink lipstick of them all and it’s back to Revlon. While it is another lip crayon, this is from a different range as it is one of their Colourburst Lacquer Balms and this is in the shade Provocateur.

Provocateur may be the darkest out of this lot, but it is also a very bright pink and I feel that it would work best in the evening; however, if you’re anything like me you’ll take no notice of that. I am definitely guilty of wearing typical “evening” lipsticks all day long, so of course it is dependant on your lipstick-wearing confidence.

As promised I have also swatched all of these lipstick for you below so that you can properly see them all for yourselves:

IMG_0274.JPG

What are your favourite pink lipsticks?

Do you have any experience with the shades I’ve mentioned?

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below!

In case you missed it, here is the post on my favourite nude lipsticks and please follow to be updated on when the next instalment of my Lipstick Love series goes up in two weeks time (let’s be honest, if you don’t follow, you know you’re going to forget about it). All my social media links are below and I hope to see you back here soon.

-driftinglexi

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

9 thoughts on “Lipstick Love: Pinks.

  1. aanthblogs says:

    The Rimmel and Revlon lipsticks look so lovely! I’m a huge fan of pink lipsticks, I literally have so so many! So I’m trying to venture out and try different colours but I might have to pick these two up before I do!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

