Winter Nail Favourites.

“If we had no winter, the spring would not be so pleasant: if we did not sometimes taste of adversity, prosperity would not be so welcome.” – Anne Bradstreet.

I know that I’ve already written about my favourite Christmas nail polishes, but trust me, these ones are different. One clear difference is the fact that none of these nail polishes contain glitter.

winter nail favourites.jpg

L-R: Essie Cocktail Bling, Fiji, Bahama Mama, Barry M Black Pistachio, Seventeen Blue Lagoon.

In the winter I tend to jump from one colour to the complete opposite. It’s basically either pale nail polishes, or dark ones as you can tell from the photo above.

Essie Cocktail Bling:

Grey is classic winter shade and definitely perfect for the start of a new year; it’s like starting again with a blank slate. Essie‘s formulation is one I love as you can get a lovely, opaque colour in just one brush stroke along the nail.

Essie Fiji:

Sticking with the pale shades, Fiji is a really light shade of pink. Usually I pull away from anything pink, but this shade is so light that in certain lighting it can be mistaken for white, which just makes me love it more. Furthermore, I find it lasts really well on my nails.

Essie Bahama Mama:

A lovely berry red with a purple undertone. I absolutely love this colour, plus it matches my go-to shade of lipstick this season. I’m currently wearing it with MAC Diva on my lips and it makes me feel so coordinated. It’s lovely and dark on my nails, but not too dark for those who shy away from black.

Barry M Black Pistachio:

A gorgeous dark green, almost black nail polish. In fact, it could probably be mistaken for black in certain lighting and from a distance, but the hint of green in the formula is what makes me love it more. It’s also one of the Gelly formulations which many of us love because they last so well on the nails. If the green doesn’t take your fancy, there are also other shades in this dark range including Black Cherry, a lovely dark, almost black, red.

Seventeen Blue Lagoon:

The year before last Seventeen really impressed me with their Gel Colour nail polishes. They apply easily with great colour and I’ve found them to be rather long lasting. For winter a typical go-to shade is a dark blue, so this is a perfect cool-toned wintry colour for the season.

Those are my top five nail polishes for winter, what are your favourites?

To see some of my wintry nail designs, please click here.

-driftinglexi

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

8 thoughts on “Winter Nail Favourites.

Leave a Reply

