Review: Gin Vodka Tequila by Brian Lucas.

Cocktail book“We were not a hugging people. In terms of emotional comfort it was our belief that no amount of physical contact could match the healing powers of a well made cocktail.” – David Sedaris.

I love cocktails and for Christmas I received this cocktail book. I am by no means a cocktail expert, previously mine have always been made by a barman, my dad, or one of my best friend’s, so I actually have minimal experience making them myself. However, now that I have a book on how to make them I have taken this as an invitation to try.

This is definitely an unusual book for me to review, but it definitely demonstrates that I’m branching out more with my reading! Plus, reading it has meant that it counts as another book towards my Goodreads Reading Challenge.

There is a whole section at the beginning of this book explaining cocktails and the different techniques and ingredients required for the making of most cocktails. This may not have been the most fun read, but it was interesting and definitely well explained and informative.

Another thing I really liked about this book is that it includes photos of all the cocktails and the more well-known, classic, cocktails even have descriptions based on their origins which is a lovely bonus. The book has a lovely layout and is easy to use… now onto the cocktails.

Obviously, I don’t know everything about cocktails. However, I was happy to see that the book contained lots of cocktails which are familiar to me and even a couple of my favourites. Because I read this at the weekend, I decided that this would also be an ideal time to try some of the more unfamiliar cocktails out, so that I would be able to give you a better opinion on this book (what a lovely excuse to drink cocktails).

  • Vodka Gimlet; an easy start, I know, but it made sense. I wasn’t sure if I would like it or not and to be honest I’m still not sure, haha.
  • Woo Woo; an all time favourite I’m now glad I can make myself and it turned out exactly how I expected it.
  • Blue Lagoon; I bought some blue curacao liqueur especially for this because I do like a Blue Lagoon. Some people add juice to it, but it doesn’t say to in this book which I’m actually okay with because while it isn’t as sweet, it makes the colour look better! Sometimes people add pineapple juice which gives it a green tinge so it just doesn’t look the same and it is still delicious.
  • Citronella Cooler; this was an entirely new one for me and I love it!

I’m sorry for a lack of photos, I would have taken some only they didn’t look that great as I don’t have any nice cocktail glasses!

Overall, I am very satisfied with this cocktail book. I don’t really know how to rate such a book, so I have given it a rating of 3/5.

What are your favourite cocktails?

-driftinglexi

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

11 thoughts on “Review: Gin Vodka Tequila by Brian Lucas.

  1. NaomiEdge17 says:

    Oooh this is right up my street, I love a cocktail! Haha 🙂 I love a Woo Woo also! My friend got me a similar type of book also, how strange! I must make the most of it and have a go at creating them myself! x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

