Review: Little Girl Gone by Alexandra Burt.

little girl gone“There are moments of joy in everybody’s life. Happiness like sadness, comes wrapped in many layers.”

I received a digital copy of this book from NetGalley to read and review, giving my honest and unbiased opinion.

Little Girl Gone follows the disappearance of Estelle’s daughter, Mia, and the struggle to find her. However, Estelle has little recollection of what happened. Is she the one responsible for her daughter being missing, or has she been taken?

It is no secret that I have a strange love for those twisted books and an even bigger love for a thriller and a good mystery to be solved. As a result, it is hardly surprising that I really enjoyed this book. I think that it was written really well and Burt has created some wonderfully written, complex characters to go into it.

From the beginning we are all unsure as to how reliable our narrator is and as we’re turning the pages we’re filled with dread that Estelle is the one responsible for her daughter’s disappearance, so even the reader doesn’t know if the information they are being told is trustworthy. I like this because it keeps us on our toes and then it’s a relief when we know what really happened, as horrible as it is.

The way that our narrator and the reader uncover the true events are through Estelle’s sessions with Doctor Ari, so we keep switching between tenses. As long as it’s executed well and not in a confusing manner, I love this way of uncovering mysteries as I find it builds more suspense and I believe that Burt has done this very well.

At the start, I did found this a little difficult to get into. However, I don’t know if that’s really down to the book itself, or just me. Did anyone else have any struggles getting into it? It may have just been my slight dislike of reading ebooks and the fact that I was reading other books on the side. However, the last 40% of the book I was completely sucked into and thoroughly enjoyed.

I really liked this book and definitely recommend it to those who, like me, love a good mystery. I have seen a lot of mentions of Gone Girl and I don’t know whether it’s the plot or the title that is the reasoning behind that book cropping up a lot; however, I reckon that if you did enjoy Gone Girl, you are likely to enjoy this too.

Overall, I rate this book 4/5.

Have you read this book? What were your thoughts?

“Believe me when I say, in the end, you will be okay. And if you are not okay, we are not at the end.”

-driftinglexi

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

4 thoughts on “Review: Little Girl Gone by Alexandra Burt.

Leave a Reply

