Review: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J. K. Rowling.

“Do not pity the dead, Harry. Pity the living, and, above all those who live without love.” ― J.K. Rowling.

hpatdhDeathly Hallows is both one of my favourites and one of my least favourites of the Harry Potter books. I feel that this was a great ending and conclusion to the series, it had adventure, mystery and of course, Harry and Ron’s usual humour and wit to help keep the tone light at times.

However, death. Need I say more? I won’t say for the tiny possibility that someone reading this is still unaware, but I definitely found Deathly Hallows to be the most heartbreaking of the series. This was my fourth read through and it still made me cry about three times throughout the latter half of the book. Part of this book I actually listened to via the audiobook narrated by Stephen Fry and I think that in fact made it worse. I mean, at least when you are reading you have control over the speed at which events happen and if you need a break you can stop, but the audiobook just keeps going and it is very effective at building tension since the words are out of your control, all you can do is listen.

In this book there are some characters which Rowling made me feel more in love with, including Molly and Neville. We all loved them originally, but during the battle we couldn’t help but love them more for their bravery and courage; they are true Gryffindors.

I also love when Rowling takes us to new locations in each book and Deathly Hallows is certainly no exception. We get to meet the Tonks’, return to the Burrow and Grimmauld Place, we also get to go to Godric’s Hollow for the first time and we see reach new depths within Gringotts. We visit so many places within this book that it’s always a joy to see characters we’re already familiar with and love every now and then, so that it isn’t always all doom and gloom.

Overall, this is another book in this series I am rating 5/5 (at this point it would be rude not to, haha).

Looking back at the series Prisoner of Azkaban still remains to be my very favourite, followed by Goblet of Fire and then the Half-Blood Prince. However, I never know where to place the very first book. I want it to be my favourite because it’s the one that introduced me to the series and I did really enjoy it, but there’s no denying how much I also love the other books. One thing I do know is that as much as I do like Chamber of Secrets, it is possibly my least favourite.

I am happy to say that I finally have reviews for each of the Harry Potter books written, so if you have missed any they are linked here:

  1. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone
  2. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
  3. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
  4. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
  5. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
  6. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

How do you rank the Harry Potter books? Which is your most and least favourite if you had to pick?

-driftinglexi

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

Leave a Reply

