Review: Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J. K. Rowling.

“It is the unknown we fear when we look upon death and darkness, nothing more.” – J. K. Rowling.

hpathbpAs I mentioned in my last review, I find it difficult not to reread a Harry Potter book and consider it my favourite. As a whole Half-Blood Prince is not my favourite, but I do still love it.

Also, just a quick (likely pointless) warning that there will be spoilers in this review.

While this book is darker following the death of Sirius and with the upcoming war, there are still moments of humour. Saying that, they don’t always last long e.g. Ron taking a love potion… And then being poisoned. However, these funny little moments in between all the seriousness is one of those things I love about these books because it’s in every single one of them and you can’t have a Harry Potter book without the fear of Voldemort mixed with some Harry and Ron humour.

In this book we are introduced to Slughorn and while he’s not a favourite character of mine, he is definitely an interesting one. Slughorn has not only a past with Voldemort, but a past with Harry’s mother (which he never ceases to remind him of). I love having these snippets of, well, history as it just helps bring these characters to life that little bit more.

I also enjoyed learning about horcruxes and Voldemort’s past and also the scene in the cave. Again, it’s not a happy one, but it is different to one’s we have seen before. We see a whole lot more of Dumbledore throughout this book due to Harry’s lessons with him which I love because we’re learning through them too and not watching arguments with Snape (although they can be slightly entertaining when Harry’s being sassy).

As unhappy as Dumbledore’s funeral was, it was lovely to see so many members of the Wizarding community come together to say goodbye. Dumbledore’s death was never one that really got to me, but it is still sad and such a wise, knowledgeable and kind character is definitely missed throughout the final book.

One part of the book I always forget about is the quidditch aspect and the apparition lessons both of which I thoroughly enjoyed because they just give us that little bit more about wizarding life. We also have those lovely moments between Ron, Lavender and Hermione in which I can’t help but laugh at Ron’s dimness and Lavender’s behaviour.

Overall, this is another Harry Potter book I have absolutely loved and so I rate it 5/5.

Let me know in the comments below what your thoughts were on the sixth book!

For the rest of my Harry Potter reviews please click here.

-driftinglexi

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

8 thoughts on “Review: Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J. K. Rowling.

  1. aetherhouse says:

    I thought this was my least favorite Harry Potter book – it felt very penultimate. I was not super interested in all the origin story stuff of Voldemort though, so that was a big detractor for me. I did enjoy all the Slughorn stuff though. And I loved seeing Jim Broadbent play him in the movie.

    Like

    • driftinglexi says:

      I get what you, mean I’m not always interested in origin stories, but I suppose in the case of Harry Potter I’m always biased as I love getting whatever details I can out of the books! Definitely!

      Like

Leave a Reply

