Review: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J. K. Rowling.

“Indifference and neglect often do much more damage than outright dislike.” – J.K. Rowling.

hpatoofpAnother wonderful Harry Potter book by J. K. Rowling which follows Harry’s fifth year at Hogwarts. I wouldn’t exactly call this book my favourite of the whole series, but at the same time it is for particular scenes and characters. As always we have the hilarious Fred and George, the lovely scenes between Harry and Sirius and of course, the introduction of Luna. We also have Umbridge who we all love to hate and despite hating her she is a great addition to the story as she demonstrates that there are different types of evil.

As much as I enjoy action, the scenes in the Ministry of Magic are not my favourite and I much preferred the action scenes at the ends of the previous books in comparison to this one. Additionally, we have the fact that a very loved character who I am too sad to name died. I remember the first time I read this entire series and it was at this point in this book where I cried for the first time at Harry Potter (although other’s may argue that Cedric’s death was tearful too).

Another thing I love about this book is how much deeper we go into the Wizarding world. We learn about house elves more and centaurs and giants, about more wizard foods and drink, about their careers and even get more background information on Snape and Harry’s parents.

This may not be my all time favourite Harry Potter book, but that doesn’t mean that I don’t love it and I definitely recommend it, especially if you have read the previous books. If you have never picked up a single Harry Potter book then what are you doing? Go and buy them all right now.

Overall, I, unsurprisingly, rate this book 5/5. I love the characters, the sense of adventure that comes with a world different to the one we live in and, of course, the wonderful humour that makes me laugh out loud every now and then between all the seriousness.

For the rest of my Harry Potter reviews please click here.

-driftinglexi

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

5 thoughts on “Review: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J. K. Rowling.

Leave a Reply

